We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heart Hotel to your Saves list
Heart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11B Hang Hanh | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile


We were very pleased with this unpretentious, centrally located facility. The site was great for walking around the lake, feeling a part of a neighborhood and being close to shopping areas. The staff were attentive without being obnoxious. On one occasion the manager on duty realized that we had not been charged a fair rate by a cab driver and took the initiative to call the company and have the matter made right. Rooms are affordable, comfortable and clean.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
60
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is in the heart of the Old Quarter but in a quiet street. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The pho for breakfast was some of the best we had in Vietnam. The icing on the cake however for us was the service especially from Hien Pham at the front desk who went over and above to help us especially accompanying us not once but 3 times ( once for an hour in her own time) to the local police station to help us make a complaint regarding a stolen iPhone. She is a gem. Would recommend this place wholeheartedly .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights, and after the staff accepted that sometimes even women travel alone all was easy. Ms Phuong at the front desk is very helpful with everything, and a little more efficient than her male colleagues, but they were all nice.
Breakfast is simple, but ok.
I had booked the lake view room (602) which was beautiful, I felt like a princess in a tower! Loved looking out until the last minute. But beware! It is noisy in Hanoi, and for 3 mornings in a row I woke up at 5:30 am to the tunes of the TaiChi class by the lake! Apart from this little hick-up I slept like a baby.
Internet was working well (free wifi everywhere), but the TV was soso. Bad reception on most international channels, i.e white noise, no picture or no voice. But hey, who comes to Hanoi to watch TV?!?
Location is also great, a small lane just by the lake and on the outskirts of the old town - all in walking distance, which made my stay in Hanoi very special.

Room Tip: 602 and 502 have lake view and are worth the extra dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bells Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and it is a great little place to stay in the middle of Old Hanoi.
The quaint room has a little "french" feel about it!
Ms Phuong at the front desk is a wonderful help if you are looking for local information.
The pho in the kitchen is the best in Hanoi !!!
You can get a room with a view of the lake or looking over the cute little street the hotel fronts.
For the price it is perfect.

Room Tip: A view over roof tops and the lake is nice.....a little French flavor here. The matress may be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My first impression was great. Beautiful room, great location and view.
Really a big pro for the room: it had 2 big windows and a small balcony. Beautiful wooden doors and wooden doorframes, plastering ceilings and lovely furniture.

Breakfast is mostly western food or pho - not much (from the menu) and really not that great.

The Room was basically pretty clean, except the shower curtain which some would call disgusting - i don't mind it that much. Otherwise the bathroom is nice and clean. Waterpressure sucks though.

My critique about the service: On our second day the water (shower and basin) didn't work: no hot water at all for most of the day and cold water only now and then. The most annoying thing though was that after talking to the staff we got told to wait for 10-15 minutes several times with nothing really changing and no sign of apology or anything.

Also a bit annoying that they tried to talk us into all kinds of tours during breakfast and each time we talked to them.
And also, the tv was broken. But that was not so terrible.

For 40$ i just expect to be able to shower at least once a day, or at least be shown some kind of goodwill - but since i guess that's not the usual, the room was still the most beautiful and comfortable hotel room we've been to in vietnam and it's okay for the price.

Room Tip: Definetely get room with lake-view. Just a few dollars more and you get a great view - two big windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three sets of dates in December whilst travelling - on arrival in Vietnam, on return from Halong Bay and on return from trip to Hoi An and Hue. Staff friendly and helpful though we booked our tours and train tickets with Buffalo Tours who were great, not the cheapest but very professional and reliable. We left our main luggage safely with the hotel whilst on trip to halong bay and when we got back from hue by train, arriving at 4:30am staff were there to let us in and get a good rest. We stayed in 502 and 602. Large triple room with two windows, tiny balcony overlooking the street. Clean linen. A/c (we needed heater in December) worked fine and quiet. Small bathroom a bit tired, but clean and lots of hot water. Basic coffee tea making facility. Bit noisy in evenings but that added to the experience. Breakfast choice limited, breakfast area small but filled with cheerful art work. We mixed and matched simpler places like Heart Hotel with more luxury/space/pool etc elsewhere in Vietnam. At $38 for a triple room it's a great area to be based and only a 3 min $2.5 taxi ride to train station or $15 to/from airport booked through the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at Heart Hotel for 11 nights. 5th floor with room overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake. Room was clean and well laid out, serviced daily. Breakfast was available every morning and the staff were excellent with great service. Proximity to lake and surrounding shops in the old quarter was perfect for the experience I wanted!!!
Thank you to the team at heart hotel for the amazing holiday. Also Heart Hotel booked my trip to Halong Bay and that is a must, what an amazing experience!!! Don't go that far and not go to Halong Bay....the hotel gave a better deal for Halong Bay, very good price!!!
Overall just a great holiday and excellent accomadation!!!

Room Tip: Fifth floor has a great view and small balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Hotel

Address: 11B Hang Hanh | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the famous ancient quarter of Hanoi, Heart hotel is one of the most elegant and luxurious hotels in Hanoi. Stay here visitors could enjoy not only beautiful and romantic view, exciting and traditional life style but also the perfect services and facilities provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.