We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Star Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Star Hotel Hanoi to your Saves list
New Star Hotel Hanoi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22/35 Quan Thanh | Ba Dinh Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Crystal Hotel Hanoi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Average hotel and what you would expect from the price range. It seemed a little ruff around the edges but it is a budget hotel. Very hot water in the shower but pressure kinda weak. Noisy from other guests inside. Breakfast was hit or miss. Elevator is a plus.Staff are all very nice. Good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mr Dean,

We thank you very much for review on the Tripadvisor. Your review is big value for us to improve our selves.
During your stay, we tried to supply you all conditions how to make your stay would be pleasant. However, there were something happened. We are sorry about only hot water in the room because our technical man turned off water system for a while to check a hot tub in 1 room. After that, he was forgot to turn on cold water - only hot water. It was fixed after 1 hour because we checked again. But it was still week for 1 hour because of first start. It is unfortunately that you were in the room in that moment. It was also our fault in managing customer that they made the noise at the hall because they were drunk at this moment. We also received report from some more guests whose have been staying in the same floor with you. I'm sorry for
Anyway, we are so sorry for some uncomfortable during your stay. We wish you are doing well and happy in your life. We hope to see you again in Hanoi and if luckily, you will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Thomas Nguyen,
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
11
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent several days in Hanoi and stood at New Star Hotel. We chose this hotel because it has really good location in the centre of the city, near the Hoan Kiem Lake and the puppet theatre. The director Thomas helped us to book tickets for puppet show and for the trip to Halong bay, he showed us everything! We were really excited about kind and friendly staff in the hotel, we liked our nice room, our tasty breakfast, and we will never forget wonderful people that we met there! Thank you so much for your hospitality! Next time we will stay here again, it's for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, General Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Marina,

Firstly, we thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and using our services.
It was our pleasure and a great honor to welcome you at our hotel to supply you our best what we are being recommended on Tripadvisor. We also thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. It is our big encourage to do our job. Once again, we are successful to take care of you, make you happy with our service. As you knew and have experienced, we always give guest the best conditions for their stay, recommend best tour company for them, responsible for their trips... We know very well that the key to make business to be successful is customer satisfaction. Because of that, we never stop promoting our selves by service and conditions of the hotel. That's why, after the old guest leaves, they introduce their friends come to us.
Once again, we thank you for your stay. We hope to get in touch with you and hope to see you again in Hanoi and stay at our hotel in the nearest future.

Your sincerely,

Thomas Nguyen,
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located in Hanoi. It is very close to the center of town. What really made my stay terrific was the service. Thomas and Wall were fantastic! They helped me book a nice trip to Ha Long Bay. They also had great suggestions on things to do around town. The staff at the hotel was very attentive and thoughtful. No, not all of them speak English. That's ok with me. I was always able to get my point across. They were all very friendly. Breakfast was a very nice buffet. Just what I needed to start my day. I was very comfortable in my room when I was there which wasn't much. I wanted to see Hanoi! Any requests I had were taken care of very quickly. If you're visiting Hanoi, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ross Madden,

Firstly, we thank you very very much to stay with us during your trip in Hanoi. Memory with you is great. We feel so proud to offer you the warmest service to you, to be with you in your birthday party and Karaoke. Our time was wonderful. When you check out, we were very sad to say goodbye. I wished you to stay with us as long as possible.
We also thank you for giving us 5 points review on Tripadvisor. We were successful to make you happy with our service. We never stop to improve our selves, promote our service and hotel's conditions. We will happy when you happy. We hope to see you again in our hotel in the nearest future.

Your sincerely,

Thomas Nguyen
Operation Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at this hotel. The location is perfect, just a 10 minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. The room was very nice with the prices above our expectations,

Very nice staff and we must really thank you so much for Mr.Hoang Anh, " Ahn" he very helpful and take good care for our luggage and all his support during our trip. he is super awesome ;)

Maew Maew / Thailand

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

First time to travel Hanoi together with my friend. we find this place cozy and homey. The breakfast is good and delicious . The staff we're very helpful and courteous esp. "Thanh Ho'ang" who simply accommodated our request.We are recommending this 3 star for family and friends who wants to visit Hanoi esp. d Old Qtr. and Hoan Kiem district...we're looking forward to ne there coming summer. Ciao.

fr. Lucy B. and Mari Mae

Room Tip: if you want view choose with balcony and you can choose inner room for depeds on what you need most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the first time I travel to Hanoi from my homeland. I chose this hotel thanks to a friend's advise. I have to say this is a great decision because the hotel provided all what I need with a very acceptable price. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The hotel, although is tiny but clean and nice. I think it has just been rebuilt. My room is not very big but have a window and is well faciliated. Usually it makes me difficult to sleep in a strange place but this time it was totally different. The breakfast is also beyond expectation.
This is a business trip to Hanoi for me but I have many good experiences and New Star hotel is one of them. In December I will come back to Hanoi again and surely we will stay here again.

Room Tip: You must require a room with window. I think it's better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

try this would be the best 3star hotel in hanoi!!!! recommended for lovers family outings nice cool location and well trained staff with the all day smile what ever you search they will brings them to your foot steps come and reserved your room now............ cheers!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Star Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Hotel Hanoi

Address: 22/35 Quan Thanh | Ba Dinh Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Crystal Hotel Hanoi)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Star Hotel Hanoi 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi New Star hotel is a NEW - 3 STAR HOTEL IN HANOI, Vietnam, perfectly situated in the heart of Hanoi's ancient streets, very close to Night market and Dong Xuan market. The famous Hoan Kiem Lake (Sword Restored Lake) is just a minute's walk away. The hotel is very convenient for guests with shopping and banking needs, and there are plenty of eating and entertainment around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your New Star Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Star Hotel Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.