We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Grand Hanoi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Grand Hanoi to your Saves list
Somerset Grand Hanoi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
KL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Somerset Grand Hanoi. Overall pleased with this place. The staff at the reception, the bell boy and the restaurant staff are all friendly and helpful.

We have 6 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 7 staying in 3-bedroom serviced apartment on 24th floor. The apartment was spacious and clean. Kitchen are fully equipped. The only download was we found that bathroom amenities were not being placed in the apartment after we have checked in. We called the reception and the housekeeping staff delivered the toothbrush and shower cap within minutes. Also, there were only 2 towels placed in each bathroom (2 bathrooms in the apartment). We have 6 adults. Hence, we requested for 2 more towels. May be this is for cost control purpose.

The pillows were extremely soft, not comfortable to sleep. I used the sofa cushion pillow to sleep. But the bed was fine.

We have breakfast included in our package. Breakfast spread was average. Same menu everyday. We were kind of bored with the breakfast food variety. On day 1 breakfast, they charged me for 1 child breakfast price; on day 2, they charged me for 1 adult breakfast price and on day 3, they charged me for 1 adult and 1 child breakfast price which I disputed and they settled with charging me 1 adult breakfast price.

However, overall this Hotel is ok for family stay. Convenient location and easy to get taxi. Would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: The streets were very noisy even till late. Stay on high floor, as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you have a pleasant stay with us.

But we also read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us. However, we are happy to note that those lapses in service for bathroom amenities and breakfast were promptly and effciently rectified by our staff. We believe there was a system error that the number of persons staying in the apartment were not correctly recorded. Please be rest assured we will improve in these areas and hope that you will accept our apology for the inconveniences caused.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    107
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
142
24
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerteh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and adult daughter. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and were very happy with our choice.

The apartment itself was spotless and well equipped. It had a full size kitchen with fridge freezer, cooker and washing machine. The main bedroom was en-suite with a bath and shower, and there was also a family shower room. There was piping hot water at all times.

The lounge is small but has everything you need and there's a dining table for 4.

The main downside is that it's noisy outside (cars honking) but it is a city and I don't know that anywhere would be really quiet.

The hotel has a great restaurant which serves delicious food and wine. My only criticism would be that it was often cold in the restaurant which let the atmosphere down a bit.

The hotel is central to everywhere and is a really good choice for anyone looking for good accommodation in Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your compliments with my colleagues. We have also taken note of your comment on the room temperature of the restaurant and will adjust it to a more comfortable level. Somerset Grand Hanoi is located within close proximity to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the charming Old Quarters. Other places of interest such as scenic lakes, museums, pagodas and parks are also situated nearby and thus very ideal for visitors who wish to find out more about this ancient yet thriving city. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed in this service apartment twice. It's a good alternative for business travelling. The location is very central, 5 mins walk to the Lake. if you travel with your family this is probably the best choice in town. There is a kitchen, fully equipped as well

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us again. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities, especially from satisfied repeat customer like you. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Your best choice in Hanoi if you are with kids.
We have three teenage kids, so good accomodation is never easy to find. This apparthotel is by far the best solution we have ever found. Reasonably priced for five people, with everything you need for a couple of days. The appartment is very spacious, kitchen is fully equipped, beds are great to sleep in. Breakfast buffet (included in our price) was sumptuous, enough to last until an early dinner. Even if you do need something, there is a small, but well stocked supermarket right in the building, don't even have to go out on the street. We stayed there over New Year's Eve, so I can't tell you what the pool is like, but the heating is fabulous, it was very welcome after walking around in 10 degrees outside.
Overall very much recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are staying in a three bedroom deluxe apartment, the space is fantastic - kids separated for some own time.
Buffet breakfast included in price, I booked direct off website.
Facilities include money exchange, branded taxis, swimming pool, restaurant, each room has airconditioner, plus kitchen and washing machine. Supermarket in adjacent building.
Walking distance to Hoan Kiem lake and old quarter (10-15 minutes). Hanoi Hilton next door, we took taxi to Koto but walked back.
All staff have been friendly, reception very helpful.
Highly recommend for family travelers.

Room Tip: Higher up may have less road noise, we stayed level 6.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I came to Hanoi on a business trip so I didn't have much time to explore the hotel fully. I had a look at the gym and pool and both looked very good, especially the pool. The breakfast was varied but I only ate fruit as I was always in a rush.
It is really more than a hotel, it is a residence. Somehow I got an apartment with two bedrooms (I was travelling alone)! I stayed in a very high up floor which helped with the noise as it was quite loud with all the honking but at night they stop which is helpful. The apartment is fully air conditioned and you can control the temperature in each room. There's a nice living area with sofa and TV as well as a dining table for 4, a big fully equipped kitchen with a washing machine. There was also two bathrooms - one with a bath tub. Iron board and iron as well as hairdryer in the room as well. I ordered room service both nights and the food was delicious! The staff is quite friendly and they help you getting taxis (although you can walk to most places) and you can also exchange money with the hotel - very good rates!
I will definitely stay here again if I ever return to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the top as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your business trip in Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arrived in Hanoi and wasn't happy with our hotel. Found Somerset on Google. Walked there and booked ourselves in. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was huge, more like an apartment. Big bedroom with a large and comfortable bed, full kitchen (fridge, microwave, stove) washing machine, lounge room, couch and dining room. Bathroom was nice. Two tvs one in the bedroom the other in the lounge. Our room was on the 20th floor with great views over the city. this hotel is out of the busy street but close enough to walk everywhere. This hotel was one of the nicest we saw in Hanoi. Breakfast was great, room service was also great. There was a supermarket on the bottom floor of this hotel that was very handy. nice lap pool and two tennis courts. I would recommend this hotel was great value, clean and very comfortable. Great for couples or family. our room was defiantly big enough for a family.

Room Tip: this hotel has windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#31 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Grand Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.