We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Grand Hanoi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Grand Hanoi to your Saves list
Somerset Grand Hanoi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Location and Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We scoured trip advisor before booking a Hotel in Hanoi not having been to this city before. We were very glad we chose this Hotel through Tripadvisor comments. Value for money is excellent, we stayed on the 20th floor which blocks traffic and constant vehicle horns from hearing during the night. The rooms are well appointed, we had a two bedroom / two bathroom fully self contained suite which was approximately $200 AUD great value. The added bonus was the location and Hotel pool which we used after walking around in the heat of Hanoi. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book a room on the highest floor as you can to block traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

We are very pleased that had an enjoyable stay with us. Being centrally located in the city center, all major attractions and eateries are within walking distance from our property.

Our spacious apartments are indeed great value for money as we have recently completed extensive refurbisbment of our apartments to provide the comforts of a modern home for our guests.

Best regards,

Michael Chan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    108
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
143
24
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid-June, 2 children and 2 adults. The spacious rooms perfect after a 20 hour trip (we did ask to change rooms, which they accomodated easily). Staff friendly, good breakfast, cleaning staff efficient. Nice pool, and gym. Provided extra laundry detergent which was a nice touch. Staff able to tell us how much taxi trips would be and to recommend restaurants. We were worried that far away from Old Quarter but taxi's were 30,000 dong and the area much cleaner (and no smell from Hoan Kiem Lake either!). We would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to send in your generous feedback.

We are very pleased to note that your family and you had enjoyed your stay at Somerset Grand Hanoi serviced residence. Our property has recently completed an entensive upgrading to enhance the stay experience of our residents and guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Hanoi.

Best regards,

Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

this place located in the center of all sights with good restaurant near by...nice clean room and worth the money. convenient with supermarket and coffee shop on G floor. money exchange at the front deak make it easy for guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your generous review.

Somerset Grand Hanoi is indeed located right in the city center and is within short walking distance to all major attractions and in Hanoi.

Our spacious apartments were fully refurbished recently to give our guests the comfort of a home away from home.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The location is perfect. It's within a 10 minute walk to the Old Quarter (which was convenient with two young children) but far away enough from all the hustle and bustle of it all.

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of April in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment wasn't very spacious, but was newly renovated so was very comfortable. Free wi-fi in each room was a bonus. The pool provided a good distraction for the kids after a hot day walking around and the buffet breakfast was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to cater to our needs. The supermarket downstairs was also good for stocking up on supplies or snacks. The hotel is also around the corner from Quan An Ngon. This was the best place I ate at in Hanoi and could have happily eaten there everyday.

The only reason I haven't given it a rating of 5 is because the pillows were horrible and the towels were very thin. Other than that, I would highly recommend this place for families.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor if you are bothered by the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your generous comments on Somerset Grand Hanoi and I am very pleased that your family and you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your compliments of my colleagues. Such positive comments will definitely inspire my team towards providing excellent service to our guests at all times.

Please accept our since apologies as our pillows and towels did not meet your expectation. Our new towels have arrived and we do have cotton pillows available on request.

My team and I look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Michael Chan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My family of 4 checked in this serviced apartment for 4 days nights It was a delightful experience staying here as the staff is so helpful and friendly and they go all the way out to assist us in the tourist places and restaurants to eat!
Thumbs up for this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your wondrful review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

I am very pleased that we have contributed in some ways to the memorable holiday for your family during your recent stay with us.

I also wish to thank you for your generous compliments of my colleagues. Such positive comments will definitely inspire us to consistently improving our service standard.

My team and I look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Michael Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

After travelling for a few weeks, we decided to splurge for a few nights at Somerset Hanoi - mainly due to the hot weather and our desire for a swimming pool! Although the apartments lack the personal touch from smaller, non-chain boutique accommodation, they were fabulous. Large, clean, modern and comfortable. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment which was luxuriously large. Breakfast was included and was an amazing buffet of western and Vietnamese treats. Given the set-up of the apartments, they would be perfect for families or longer stay visitors. The washing machine and kitchen were great facilities.

Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Check out the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

I am very happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our apartments were recently renovated extensively to provide the comforts of a home for all our guests whether on short holiday or extended stay. We are also upgrading our gymnasium to provide our guests with a healthy lifestyle.

Best regards,

Michael Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 night in Somerset Grand Hanoi after returning from a 2D/1N Emeraude Halong Bay Cruise. It's a bit pricey than our usual hotel choice, but it is worth that bit of splurge.

Booked for a 2-bedroom apartment. And it was perfect. The moment we let ourselves in through the door, we felt at home (not that our house looks like this, but it's the feeling that you want this apartment to be your home). And it looked exactly like it is in the photos on their website.

This apartment has a lot of space. It has a kitchen with all the things you need should you decide to cook. It also has a washer/dryer (even comes with a sachet of washing powder), a large refrigerator and clothes dryer. The dining area is wide enough, the living area with a cosy sofa and with large LCD TV and DVD player and . We didn't use the DVD though.

Strong wi-fi connection and did I mention free? Nice, comfortable beds and clean, immaculate white bedsheets and fluffy pillows and comforters. Both rooms have great views.

No complain in the bathrooms, both spotless clean (the other T&B has a tub). Standard amenities were there, shampoo, shower gel and lotion.

We used the sauna facilities, nothing spectacular though. Pool area was undergoing some renovation works that time and not available to use.

Breakfast was ok, the usual selection of vietnamese food though. We ordered something for dinner at their resto on 4th floor (the same that served the breakfast) and used the utensils in the kitchen as we didn't want to go out anymore. It was like eating at home :-) but nicer.

The hotel vicinity is near to tourist attractions, all within walking distance. There is a nearby cafe and a grocery store at the ground floor.

Check-in process was very efficient. Forex was better (and felt safer). The staff are courteous but somehow lack the warmth. But we stayed out most of the day sightseeing so it didn't matter much. But it would have been better if they were.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

I am very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable holiday and a comfortable stay with us.

Your comments that our staff lacked warmth is noted. We will counsel our staff to improve on this trait.

Best regards,

Michael Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Grand Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.