We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hanoi Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Hanoi Backpackers Hostel
48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place is exactly what a hostel should be. Clean. Friendly. Excellent value for money. The rooms were nice, spacious, clean, air conditioned. And the staff could not be more helpful.
It's definitely for the young backpacker looking to meet people over a few drinks. Would definitely recommend. One piece of advice would be to use the travel centre a few doors down to book any tours /airport transfers, as I think they bump up their prices to include commission. But still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    212
    116
    37
    27
See reviews for
3
88
180
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hostel is GREAT if you are young, vibrant and up for a massive night. I am young however I wasn't feeling too great when I stayed there and found it a bit too much for me. There is nowhere that is chilled out there, it is all go in the dorm rooms and in the bar area. If you are up for HUGE then this is your place, it is clean and well looked after. However if that isn't your thing then I'd have a look at somewhere else to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There are two in hanoi. I stayed in the orginal one. Its in ok location although i think the other one maybe better. The room and bathroom was clean. Lockers are good but depending on what bed you are in are some lockers are half sized. The staff are friendly and helpful. I stayed at the same place in hue and i rate this one much better overall.
Its the little things that make the place better such as lots of hooks in the shower, power points and the size of the room.
There is a roof top bar which is nice and have ok special such as free beer sunday arvos...untill it runs out. When that closes you can go on a pub crawl which is a good way of meeting people and going to good places although everything technically shuts at 12..llbut there are always places open secretly.
Also after the pub crawl i got back at 5am and slept till 1pm and checked out late. No one said anything so that was a bonus.
$7.5 a night including free water and breaky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights (actually stayed in both- the other one is across town) Most of the guests are just post university groups or people having a sizeable period travelling. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the continual party atmosphere may eventually kill you! But its hard not to join in. I thoroughly recommend the 2 night trip to Halong bay where the staff really do know how to entertain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here at the end of my time in Vietnam after I'd worn myself out and the social side was almost too much for me in my tired state, but I still managed to have so much fun! The atmosphere created by the staff and the nightly activities puts everyone so at ease, and I made many friends here! The showers were hot and powerful (a rarity for Vietnam)! Dorms are secure, with two lockers each. My only two problems with this place was firstly the fact they turned the air con off at 10am, which made it impossible to have a lie in after the heavy night outs that are imposed, and I was there during abnormally high temperatures, even according to the locals! And secondly, that nobody informed me breakfast was included until the last day. So don't forget to claim your free breakfast!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great nightlife and atmosphere, with music going on until the allowed time. Breakfast is also very good. The street tour could be a little better but it ticks te boxes.
Tip: buy beer from the street ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Good hostel with really good nightlife!!
The rooms were tiny though and you have to keep your rucksack in a small space under your bed!
You all have a lockable space which is nice!
The rooms aren't that clean though.
Bathrooms are average would be nice if they were separated between males and females though!
The castaway tour they offer is awesome I would recommend it to anyone! I would also recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.