We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly old and tired inner city hotel but staff are very helpful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bodega Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodega Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“slightly old and tired inner city hotel but staff are very helpful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We arrived into Hanoi airport at 11pm at night and had ordered their car to meet us at the airport. They were not there to meet us and this was very disappointing. When we arrived via bus and taxi to the hotel they confirmed they had sent the car to meet us and could not understand why we had not made contact. They were very apologetic about this mix up. Our room here had no windows which was actully good as we slept in the following day. There are rooms with windows. A buffet breakfast is included in the room price which is satisfactory but nothing to write home about. In general the room is tired but the bed was comfortable with clean towels each day. The staff try to be very helpful but in the main their english is quite limited.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    31
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
13
43
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
siracusa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

the best place to stay beacuse amazing staff. they make you feel very welcomed and always giving you advice and interesting info.i definitely recommended. even to book tours with them, reasonable prices and very well organized.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanning, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My friend and I chose to stay at Koto Hotel across the street, but due to a miscommunication about the booking we got bumped out of our room by some girls we recommended the hotel to earlier that day. Luckily there was a twin room available at Bodega, Koto's fancier, newer sister hotel across the road. We had excellent service, including getting discounted HaLong Bay cruises, train tickets, and even a free ride to the train station at the end of our stay. The beds are soft and comfortable, the bathrooms clean, and everything is in good shape. The included breakfast is exactly the right thing to keep you going through the morning. But my my favourite thing was the staff--they're just so nice and helpful, and quite funny. We met the boss several times and he was very kind and friendly. I would definitely suggest either Koto or Bodega to anyone travelling to Hanoi--it really beats every other option in town!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, and if you book via Agoda, be aware they don't always check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here for about 3 nights in December, and found it a great place for a solo traveller. It's very central and clean. I was staying in the dorms which are pretty decently sized and have comfortable beds - unfortunately the blankets are a coin toss. The first night I had a very thin blanket and was frozen all night. Other nights got a warmer one and had no problems.
Staff are really helpful - they'll organise tours, taxis, directions. When a tour messed up my booking, they got so outraged on my behalf it was rather sweet. Also have a pretty decent breakfast buffet option upstairs.
One last issue is internet. They have it, but the signal doesn't reach the dorm rooms, so be prepared to spend time in the foyer - the building would really benefit from a lounge room.

Room Tip: If you need Internet in the privacy of your own room, pay for a private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying here 3 times! First arrived and the dorm we booked was full so they put us in a private room for the same price which was great. We booked a trip to ha long bay and cat ha island with them too, which was such a good trip, they didn't ask us to pay till we got back incase anything was wrong. But it was ran very well and we had a great time! Then we came back and were put into the same room again at the price for a dorm. Then we went away to sapa and although this time when we got back a room that we booked wasnt available, we were moved to a different hotel which they also ran, they did everything to make us happy and comfortable. The breakfast was good ( toast jam tea etc, noodles, eggs) and the staff could not of been more friendly and helpful. Always offering water and helping with luggage.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We absolutely LOVE the staff here; they'll fall over themselves to help you and their English is great so can offer good clear advice for travelling round Vietnam and Hanoi itself. The breakfast is pretty good and is included in the room price. We stayed in a twin room on the first floor and is just above the foyer so it is very noisy throughout the night. Our toilet also leaked water all over the bathroom floor. Other than those negative points I would recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our stay at Bodega far exceeded our expectations. Great customer service and you feel right at home. Not only does Bodega provide a good location to explore Hanoi, but they are accomodating and easily help (without the hassle) with your plans for a good time in Vietnam. Rooms are large and clean and overall a great value hostel with top customer service. Greetings from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodega Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Hotel

Address: 133 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bodega Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Hanoi's old quarter, combined with warm, friendly, personalized service and modern amenities, Bodega hotel makes it the perfect choice for both business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bodega Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.