We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't join any tour they recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bodega Hotel to your Saves list
Bodega Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
HK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't join any tour they recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

My best advice to you. Stay there is OK but don't be persuated to join any tour they recommended. Please go outside and look around and make sure they provide you air-condition and clean food on the boat.

I joined their Ha Long Bay tour and found that no air-conditioning at all in the boat. However, I paid the price which entitled air-conditioned boat. In addition, the manager, Mr. Tamzay felt no shame at all to tell lies with the tour company. Mr. Tamzay is the one with a square face, wearing no glasses, 160 cm. Be careful.

Mr. Tamzay has another hotel on his own and tap the business from Bodega to his hotel.

However, to be fair, their staff lower than the manager grade are friendly, honest and patient.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
47
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

We'd pre-booked and confirmed a 11 night stay with the Bodega.. only to arrive on a late night flight and be told when our pick up eventually arrived there was no room for us!! we were taken to the sister hotel, The Democracy, the room there was small, with no windows and dirty but it was late and with no other choice we had to stay. The next day we went to the Bodega but again no room for us.. they showed us other hotels close by but all were of inferior standard..eventually after we asked for our money to be refunded they took us to a better hotel which we were satisfied with..we unpacked ready to begin enjoying our holiday..The next morning just as we were leaving to make most of the day exploring Hanoi, (we were booked on sleeper for Sapa that night ) we were stopped and told we'd have to move back to the Bodega! We'd understood that we were staying where we were for the rest of our trip, all this moving was time wasting and unsettling.. Again we spent time speaking to the Bodega who assured us that it would be no problem after all to stop where we were.. On the day we returned from Sapa we were again informed that someone from the Bodega wanted to speak with us..and the following morning after breakfast a man claiming to be the manager turned up..he showed us a recept (which he later said was to do with a motor bike) initially claiming that it was what we'd paid and we were expected to pay more.. The amount he was sugesting we had paid was wrong and we could prove it..then he said we'd paid nothing at all!! He was just trying to get more money out of us..We stuck our ground and argued that we'd already paid for the room any slight extra expense for the new hotel should be covered by them for failing to provide us with the service we'd booked in good faith.. We had no further contact after that. We spoke to the booking agent and it was explained how the Bodega should act according to the proceedures laid down in their contract... firstly they should have notified the agent that we weren't staying at the Bodega, 2ndly they should offer us alternative accommodation of the same or higher standard, and finally any extra costs to be met by the Bodega.
We can't comment on the standard the rooms at the Bodega because we never got to stay there.. this review is based on our experience of dealing with the staff of this hotel..
We booked our accommodations ahead hoping to save time and problems with finding hotels in Hanoi but instead through this hotel found ourselves caught up in the hassles we'd been trying to avoid..

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — All the hassles involved with the hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

My family and I were stayed in Bodega Hotel, Hanoi from 11 November till 14 November 2007. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They even carry my son to cross the road whenever they see us coming back where the van will usually drop us at the opposite road. This hotel has free internet service and also games which my son loves it so much. We really had a great stay in the Hotel. I would like to thank TUAN, CONE and SANG for their wonderful service.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed here for a week and it was great. They helped us organize a tour but weren't pushy about it ( RARE ! ) , everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was big and yummy. The rooms are colossal and cavernous - we went into the standard and deluxe . They give you fresh fruit every day, advise you when you ask for it and will even just chitchat as you munch through your baguette, egg , jam, butter and fruit. We happened to be walking the streets one night, looking for a restaurant, when the owner ( Pui ) zoomed up on his motorbike and offered us a lift ! It was a great experience and he dropped us off at a restaurant he rcommended , which turned out to be great.

  • Liked — Friendly service, good location, big rooms, filling breakfast, thorough cleaning and overall great value
  • Disliked — Decor looked cheap.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodega Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Hotel

Address: 133 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bodega Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Hanoi's old quarter, combined with warm, friendly, personalized service and modern amenities, Bodega hotel makes it the perfect choice for both business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bodega Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.