We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siver moon in Hanoi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan Lakeview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Artisan Lakeview Hotel to your Saves list
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Hang Hanh St | Old quarter, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam (Formerly Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 450 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Siver moon in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the silver moon for two nights before heading off to Halong Bay. The room was spacious, clean and had good air con. Shower was nice and hot and the mini bar was cold. Price was great at $25 a double.

Staff were very helpful, changing money, organising a scooter for us each day and booking taxi's etc.. they also told us where we could find each type of street food we were looking for. They booked halong bay and a train trip too. Nothing was a problem for them.

Breakfast was great, there were several options on the breakfast menu (Vietnamese and american style). You could choose whatever you wanted with fresh juice and coffee as well. The view from the breakfast room was excellent - over the lake.

There were a few very small negatives.....the sister hotel (Madame moon) was actually supposed to pick us up from the airport but there was no car waiting. A quick phone call and they had a guy there in about 10 minutes though....There are 4 hotels linked together in this little group I think.....

Also the Silver moon booked us a halong bay tour on the Margerite. The photos we were shown in the hotel did not reflect the boat we were put on....Now, this is not neccessarily silver moons fault. The photo book was outdated in the hotel as apparently all the boats in Halong bay are now painted a hideous white....not the old brown timber junk we were expecting.
Also, we actually saw 3 (yes 3) boats named the Margerite and only 1 of them was 4 star as it turns out and this was not our boat. We should have looked more closely into this situation.
I don't think the hotel knew the Halong Bay cruise boat company had these variations in their system.....

Saving grace for the silver moon is that the staff were great and when we arrived back in Hanoi after a days travelling from Halong Bay, they gave us a free room for the afternoon and evening for us to use til we caught our train out of town late that night. Very nice indeed.....
Thanks Silver Moon. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the 7th floor. . If you stay on the 7th you stroll straight out of your room into br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Trevor,

Warmly greetings from Hanoi Silver Moon Lakeview hotel!!!

With our great thanks to you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor and we are proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to thank you for commenting favorably on our room and our staff. We are very glad that our team has been able to serve you so well. We are pleased as well to see that in general you were happy with the services that you received during your stay with us. Except for a few very small negative things that you mentioned in your comments. We are all appreciate that you just consider them as very small thing as it won't influence to your stay at our hotel.

Thank you once again for your heartfelt sharing on this site and we’re hoping to see you back to our hotel in your favorable time.

Yours affectionately,
Ms Nancy - Team managements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    41
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
55
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rose petals on the bed, the pictures tell it like it is for once. Thao was great, helped organise our tours to halong bay and tam coc. We arrived late in the evening and she took all the hassle out of everything. All we had to do was go to bed. Breakfast was the best we'd had in Vietnam. Wish we could have stayed longer. Nothing but praise for silver moon and staff.

Room Tip: Even room at front with balcony was quiet, on a quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Reviewer below has all the details correct. We just stayed there in April for our third time; although it had been two years since we were there, we were greeted by the same faces as if we were family. The location is very convenient for quick shopping forays, and food abounds in this area just off the city center.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to get a lake view if wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Snap,

Greetings from Hanoi Silver Moon Lakeview hotel!

We would love to thank you so much for taking time to sharing your great experiences in our hotel. It's great to be your Home - sweet - Home in Hanoi. And we are much appreciate if we have more chances to welcome here.

We are so appreciate your compliment about our staff and our location. We do hope to have a chance to deliver this unique experience to make our valued guests always have a memorable experience and satisfaction during the time in Hanoi.

Look forward to have another time to see you here.

With our best regards,

Ms. Nancy - Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I could have easily stayed at this hotel for a month and been quite happy! It’s in a perfect location in the old quarter, just around the corner from Hoan Kiem Lake, and in close proximity to restaurants, shops, Silk St. . . . we even walked to the Hanoi Hilton from the hotel. We stayed here in March for 2 nights before going to Sapa and Halong Bay, then another 3 nights on our return. It was a great find for $35 incl tax. The rooms are very clean and spacious, bathrooms are in good condition with hot shower. For our last 3 nights after Sapa and Halong bay, we stayed in a room with a balcony, although not all rooms have them. Complimentary water, tea and coffee are in the rooms, also Wifi. The breakfast room is on the top floor with a beautiful view of the lake. Breakfast is included in the room price and ordered from a menu with both western and Asian options. When you sit you down, the server will bring you a fresh fruit plate and yogurt before you order. That, including your breakfast order, is almost too much food. You could order fresh squeezed juices which were great. And the staff was wonderful. They are so pleasant and helpful, especially Nagn (Nancy) at the front desk, who was so helpful when booking our side trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. As a bonus, I suspect because we booked through her, we received a free ride to the airport when we checked out. What was really impressive was our train trip to Sapa - the bellboy hopped on his moto and followed our taxi to the train station, then he walked us right up to our train car and helped us on the train! On our return trip from Sapa, the bellboy was waiting for us at the train station at 4:30 AM, grabbed our bags, found us a taxi and followed us back to the Silver Moon. The train station in Hanoi is very crowded and confusing, so we were grateful for the extra attention. The staff really made our stay a memorable experience in Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Travelvixen99,

On behalf of our hotel management, I am Ms. Nancy would love to say sincerely thank you so much for your stay at our hotel and your kindly words on Tripadvisor.com. It's valuable gift for us to try harder to make our guest's stay be as comfort as possible.

We are all very happy as you really enjoyed your stay with us in late Mar and early Apr. It's our pleasure to try our best to make your trip unforgettable. Thank you once again for your nice words regards to our location, our staff and especially our service.

Warmly welcome you back to Hanoi Silver Moon Lakeview in near future.

P/s: If there is a chance to visit Can, I definite ask for your help. It would be great if we have friends everywhere, right?

So take care yourself and have a nice day.

With our best regards,

Ms. Nancy - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It felt like our "home away from home" on our six night stay at Silver Moon. Delicious breakfast served every day in their room with a view of the lake. The entire staff was service oriented that would do anything for you to make your stay comfortable. Great location, wonderful staff and good value for your money. Thank you all for a memorable stay in Hanoi.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the busyness on the street below us while sitting on our deck, but if you prefer a quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Connie,

First of all, we would love to thank you so much for your valuable comments on the site. And all of your nice words are being transferred to our staff who are so appreciate that. Deeply thank you for your commenting on our great location as well as whole staff. We are glad to hear that our teem had a good job as served you well.

We are looking forward to seeing you when you come back to Hanoi as your "home away from home".

Your Sincerely,

Ms. Nancy - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel between 19th and 28th February this year.
Only a moment's walk from Hoan Kiem Lake in the old quarter on a quiet side street, it's position could not be better,
The staff were superb, the room was excellent and breakfast was lovely.
I have a bad knee and asked for a lower level room and they were able to accommodate me.
Nothing was too much for the staff giving help and advice whenever I asked.
On my next visit to Ha Noi I will definately stay at the Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel so I have no hesitation in giving my recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Bernie,

Firstly I would love to say thank you so much for your gracious comments toward Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel.

We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel during last month, especially to know that you were impressed with our great location - lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

Also we are all very happy because we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible. That's our goal we are following to improve our quality of service.

Many thanks again for sharing your experiences on site and look forward to seeing you soon in Hanoi.

Regards,

Ms. Nancy - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here upon arrival in Hanoi. Great to step off the rainy street into this little haven.

The staff was very accommodating and genuinely wanted to help me out with anything I asked. I really appreciated their service!

The room was pretty adequate with a good little bathroom and a safe for valuables, very appreciated. Nothing to write home about but we did have a room up near the top with a solid lakeview!

I'd recommend this place as a good value. The staff really made it for me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cuddy,

How great for us to receive such lovely comments like yours! All of your nice words were being transferred to the staff in our hotel. They would be valuable gift for them to try harder to maintain their service.

As a Front Office Management, I am so happy we were able to accommodate you and provide you with that experience.

And please allow us to have another chance of welcoming you back when the occasion permits.

Take care yourself.

Ms. Nancy - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artisan Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Lakeview Hotel

Address: 23 Hang Hanh St | Old quarter, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam (Formerly Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 450 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artisan Lakeview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan Lakeview Hotel is located on the quiet side of Hoan Kiem Lake in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, within immediate vicinity of all the services and the beautiful nature. We provide a pleasant accommodation, a wide range of exciting culinary experiences, and friendly service. This family-owned hotel is well known for its warm atmosphere. Welcome and enjoy a relaxing holiday.Our 15 well-equipped accommodations provide a comfortable setting for staying overnight. The rooms are cozily decorated and well lit, and sure to suit all preferences. Select the alternative that best suits you from double rooms to spacious family rooms and suites. In our pleasant lobby, you can read newspapers or talk with our front desk team to know more about Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artisan Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Lakeview Hotel Hanoi
Golden Sun Hanoi
Hotel Golden Sun
Golden Sun Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan Lakeview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.