We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 7th visit to Hanoi[6 nights]” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Star Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   25 Hang Mam Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Stars Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 452 Hanoi B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My 7th visit to Hanoi[6 nights]”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I usually stay at Mr. Do's Discovery Hotel which is excellent as a budget hotel. This time I decided to stay at the Hanoi Star Hotel which business Mr Do has also aquired . This is one of 4 hotels he now managers. As can be seen from the last few comments,since Mr Do took over the running of the hotel he has made many changes to the hotel and now has excellent English speaking receptionists and upmarketed customer service.The hotel is situated in an excelent position in the Historic Old Quarter and in walking distance to many attractions including the lake and the famous Vietnames Water Puppet Show. As a regular visitor to Hanoi,I would stress that you book your taxi from the airport from Mr.Do before you arrive as you then pay the correct fare.Staff at the hotel can arrange all your touring requirements which are the same prices as travel agents and maybe cheaper depending on the type of tour you require.All in all I could not find fault with this hotel and the room price.

Room Tip: All rooms are excelent. It really depends on the size of your party. Staff are pleased to show you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
24
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed a total of 3 nights in this hotel (first two before and one after our trip to Cat Ba island). The room we stayed in both times was very spacious (maybe a bit too big) and the beds were even long enough for tall people like us. The airport pick-up was also very useful. By the way, we noticed that the management has changed since March 2011, so older reviews might be less useful. The new owner is very friendly and helpful. If we go back to Hanoi, we'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Hi,
I spend 5 nights in TheHanoi Star II Hotel. They have very comfortable, big, and nice beds :)
Everyday Sb clean up my room and place my clothes.
Servis is very polite and helpful.
Especially I recommend massage and coffe :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I recommend this hotel. Very nice and helpful staff!!! Rooms are very cozy and beds are so comfortable. Computers and free intertnet in rooms. And price is acceptable. Next time I'll definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: the best room is on the1st flore with 3 nice beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in a standard room and our average experience was not very positive.
The rooms were not well maintained, half of the ligths in our room were not working, the bathroom was very old and it was or a lot of ice cold water or a very tiny stream of hot water which barely allowed you to wash your hair.
According to their website the standard room would be 15m², ours wasn't any bigger than 10m². It didn't look attractive at all, it was humid, dark and unappealing.
Breakfast was included but very minimalistic.
On their website they promise hairdryer, newspaper, welcome drink, fan, slippers, umbrella, minibar... we didn't see any of these extras.

There are some positive things about this hotel that are worth mentioning though:
It is very centrally located if you want to visit the Old Quarter.
We had a room in the back and we didn't suffer of any street noise.
We were promised to be picked up at the airport and that was correct, there was a private driver waiting for us, so that was very handy (15$).

The staff was quite noisy and we woke up every day at 5.30u because they started yelling and slamming doors in the corridor.

The basic price for the room on the internet was 33$ (standard double), as of the 2nd night we paid 23$. Still on an average this was no good value for the money compared to standard rates in Hanoi. We spoke with some other guests in this hotel and
they shared the same opinion.

I'm sure there are much better alternatives to be found in Hanoi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

The rooms were spacious, but one of the 2 rooms we occupied there had no window at all.
Due to the storm, we canceled our tour to Halong Bay, so we extended a night in the hotel. We took a tour to Tam Coc that they offered, including a bicycle ride in the tour. (USD 8 difference between a tour with the bicycle ride and the one without).
Turns out, we had no bicycle ride, and the tour guide said he didnt have anything to do with that promise. When we got back to the hotel, the guy who arranged our trip, Andy, was never there, and his colleague avoided to take the responsibility and we never got our USD 8 (each person) back.
I give them poor rating for their dishonesty.

Initially we booked a room in the Victory Queen Hostel, but we never got there. This Andy guy hopped in our pickup car when the driver dropped other tourists somewhere, and after a conversation in Vietnamese between Andy and the pickup staff, he told us that there's no room in Victory Queen for us, hence they offered us a stay at Hanoi Star, which he claimed to be more of value with no added price. We don't really know what really went on there.

I just don't trust these hotels anymore.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Poor services and staffs' attitudes..

No airport pick up services eventhough had pre-arranged and confirmed in the e-mail.

No breakfast and fruit basket though they had agreed earlier to provide all the services.

Booked a delux room but gave me a standard room.

The counter staff tried to charge me excessively for the city tour which is above the rate being advertised in the hotel website.

I was very disappointed and no way I will stay in hotel again...

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Star Hotel

Address: 25 Hang Mam Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Stars Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 452 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.