We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and good located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Especen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Especen Hotel to your Saves list
Especen Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Tho Xuong street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and good located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had a very clean and spacious room. The team that works there is always happy to help you with everything you need. They also booked for me a very nice trip to Halog Bay. And arrange the taxi to the airport to the hotel for a very reasonable cost.

very nice hotel. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    94
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
14
93
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Especen Hotel was a very welcome home after a 2-week road trip on the back of a motorbike, from south to north Vietnam. Staff were friendly, and the room was lovely - clean, spacious, nicely decorated, comfy bed and modern bathroom - it felt like 5-star luxury and was exceedingly good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed an economical and central hotel for our stay to have access to our early flight.
The hotel failed in the area of cleanliness immensely in room and public area. Upon entering the room we had a huge water puddle assuming is from the A/C or as they left the window open and the bed sheet had hairs.

A/C was not a 100% and in the bathroom we found a bar of soap opened...not a nice impression!

Rate was ok but I have stayed in better and paid less should not be your first option.

Room Tip: No lift ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel by itself would get a 5 star rating, clean, spacious and well located. However, two things. I assume this place is family run, as there was always a little toddler in reception. At one point it weed on the floor, and no one cleaned it up so people were just stepping in it which was disgusting. Also, they completely ripped us off on the train tickets that we asked them to buy for us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
especen, Owner at Especen Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your review & So sorry for any inconvenient while staying at our hotel!

Luckily, my little boy now is growth up & he is so cute now. Whenever you come back to Hanoi, he would like to say sorry to you, too.

For the train ticket, cause it is tourism train (not normal train) so there's something different to normal train as:

1. Tourism train with higher quality was dealed via travel agent, not available at train station ticking desk so it is hard to buy on closed date.

2. Tourism train ticket price is changing daily & hourly on closed date depend on how many sit left & when it was paid. We just receive a little paid from travel agent as a payment for telephone & service cost. We don't make money from this service.

Regard
Especen hotel's owner
Tran Hoai Thanh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a excellent stay at this hotel. We did stay here two times, just after we landed at before we went to Hue. The staff is very friendly although not everyone's english is up to speed.
The rooms were very nice and clean, same goes for the bathroom. The location is perfect, away from the busy traffic, but right in the center of Hanoi. The staff is very helpful and we booked a very good trip to Halong Bay with them.
Only downside is that there are only western options for breakfast. But there is a nice little streetrestaurant right across the door.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Loved this hotel we stayed here twice! We arranged good quality excursions to Halong Bay and Sapa through this company and they looked after our bags whilst we were away. Would recommend to couples travelling together wanting a quality but reasonable place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived in Hanoi in the pouring the rain, very early morning and luckily we arranged with the hotel a taxi to pick us up from the airport. This made life a lot easier. From the moment we arrived at Especen, staff were friendly and very helpful. We want to say a special thank you to Anh, a smiley friendly face,who helped us plan our trip and arrange tours and buses further South. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the middle of the old quarter, but quiet enough to be away from the noise. The rooms are spotless with lovely modern bathrooms and comfortable beds - bonus there is TV with films. Breakfast also tasty and good value. I would no doubt stay here again if we return to Hanoi. Thank you Especen Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Especen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Especen Hotel

Address: 28 Tho Xuong street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Especen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especen hotel is one of the first mini hotels built since the 1990s located in the center of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. It is just a stone’s throw from St. Joseph's Church (Cathedral) on a quiet alley off of Au Trieu Street. This convenient location allows you to be just a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, Thang Long water puppet theater, night market, Vietnam Airlines booking office & Quang Trung bus stop (for service to Noi Bai International airport). You can get to all the famous travel points, Eroupean and Vietnamese traditional restaurants, craft shops, pubs and art galleries,... as soon as you step on to the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Especen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Especen Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Especen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.