We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historical Gate, but need to be taken care more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Gate

Old City Gate
Hang Chieu street, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A historical Gate, but need to be taken care more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

When I came here with my friends, the place was dirty and seems to be forgotten. I thinks the government should take care of it so that people can came here, take photo and thinks about the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We like to explore on foot when we can, and so walked from the Museum of Ethnology back to the Old Quarter, about 8km. We came across this picturesque brick gate with large wooden doors on one of the wide boulevards. Memory fails, but there is a very small fee for entry, and a WC on site. This is the northern gate left after the French overwhelmed Saigon. There are some English info panels in the room at the top of the metal stairs, and a tribute and shrine to the man who was in charge of defending the city and then committed suicide. Unless you are a real history buff I would not go out of the way to see it, but if are taking a taxi to the Eth. Museum, stop on the way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely old gate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It’s a nice fact that we have seen many nameless spot that still preserve the original shape since their buildings long time ago. And this place is one of them. Definitely not a suitable place to stop by to long but about emotions, we would say yes!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Not a great deal to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not a great deal to see, but if you are getting lost in the old quarter you will eventually come across it and be able to get your bearings. An old lady used to live in one side of it. Is she still there?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A Very Busy Intersection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

As with almost all areas of Hanoi the traffic is horrendous, and to be honest there isn't really much to see once you have got past that

OK, so the gates have lasted through much conflict and that in itself is a reason to walk past, but not a reason to linger.

Enjoy the markets around and avoid the traffic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Gate also viewed

 

Been to Old City Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.