We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French fries ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill

the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill
42b Ma May, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3200 1289
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,013 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great French fries ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is a nice change of place for the area. Decent western food with a great environment. Been here twice. First time was burger and fries.

Burger was decent, wanted it with just cheese but came with some kind of sauce any way. No problem, chalk that up to language barrier. Fries were great and they have a nice beer selection.

Second time got the chicken quesadilla and fries. They were surprisingly good. Would have liked some salsa or pico instead of the salad/sauce but it was ok as well.

Sapporo beer was a nice change. Overall I was pleased. Staff was very attentive (maybe to attentive) but that normal for this area.

Good job moose and roo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We always appreciate constructive feedback and we will address the cheese problem with the staff at our next briefing. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Introduce yourself the next time you are in and I will make it up to you. Thanks for the other nice comments as well.

Keth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    83
    30
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The presentation of the place and food were both amazing. All of our meals were beautiful, It is a little more expensive than your normal western food but well worth the money! Staff had excellent knowledge of the menu and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice review. We hope you have a chance to visit us again as well.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enough can satisfy Western guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went there with my friends on busy Saturday night. We ordered some Brazilian dishes and pasta. dishes were enough decent and we loved the fresh beer. But I need to mention that they need to arrange seats more efficiently. we was only 3, but asked to seat on very large seat. Later they asked us to move to another small seat. felt like they disturb my time with friends.
Except this, atmosphere, dishes and beer especially, they have very good Czech beer. That is very recommendable for Westerns. But fairly expensive compare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Really sorry that you felt disturbed during your visit to the Moose & Roo. Because of the limited space we have in the restaurant we sometimes do have to move guests in order to accommodate a large group walk in. We really do try to limit this but that being said sorry it happened to you. I know we always offer our guests a complimentary drink or dessert if we ask them to move so I hope this made up for the inconvenience. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the other aspects of your visit and We would love for you to come and visit us again.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Western food in the east”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a really nice restaurant if you want western food in the east. The food was very nice. The staff lovely and attentive but not overalls. Would definitely recommend a visit if you want a good meal. Not cheap but pay for what you get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for such a great review. We are happy to here you enjoyed your visit.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slightly dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After reading all the great reviews a friend and I were expecting big things! Lovely staff and nice place but felt the food was overpriced for what we had. We had the chicken stroganoff which only had about 3 chunks of chicken in. And would have ordered more food but became too pricey with the high prices of the restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Sorry to hear you disappointed. I would like to point out that every single table without exception receives a quality check after 5 minutes of your food being delivered to you. If you had any problems with the quantity or quality that would have been the ideal time to mention it. We genuinely want you to enjoy your visit but if you don't tell us what isn't up to your standards we cannot fix it. Remember that the next time you go into any restaurant as any passionate restaurant owner I know would rather have you leave happy than dissatisfied and would do almost anything they could to make your visit pleasurable.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.