We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in Hanoi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill

the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill
42b Ma May, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 32668081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,140 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: International, European, Australian, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best burger in Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've been here several times and have never been disappointed. The food is fantastic, the service is 2nd to none and the atmosphere is great. The burger is the best I've had in Hanoi and the chicken wings (suicide sauce!) are to die for. If you're looking for some top western grub and a great place to get away from the madness outside then I'd certainly recommend The Moose.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks very much for such a nice review. Happy to hear we ticked all the boxes. Reviews such as this are a very good motivator for the staff, we appreciate it. Be careful with the suicide wings.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    121
    38
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food. Nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The food far exceeded expectations. This place is a real gem. The owner, Keith, is social and greets people by name. Try the delicious Scotch egg. Be surprised by the most delicious quesadillas you've ever eaten. Wash it down with an impressive selection of Bourbons. I'll be recommending The Moose & Roo to fellow travelers from North Carolina, USA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for your recommendation. We appreciate the kind words and are happy to hear you appreciated the whisky collection. Hope to see you again when you are back in Hanoi.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Food was amazing, service was great and prices were good. Had awesome chicken wings and Aussie pie. In a great location. Recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Deeeeelicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've already been here twice, the steak sandwich is the best I've ever had, if this restaurant was in Melbourne I would go here every week!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Who knows, Melbourne may be in our future. Thanks for the great comments.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“GastroPub with a Great Range of Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We dropped in to The Moose & Roo for a round of Single Malts and were impressed by the Canadian-influenced food menu and the excellent range of premium drinks on offer at the bar. The Moose & Roo sits in the old quarter of Hanoi and appears designed to cater for ex-pats, tourists and progressive locals - obviously trendy and well appointed compared to some of the surrounding places. Shared a drink with mine host Kieth Thibert, who told us a little about the pub and its philosophy. Definately will spend more time in here on future visits to Hanoi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Really happy that you will be returning. We put a lot of effort into our whisk(e)y collection so we are pleased to hear you appreciated it. Always nice to chat with guests who get what we are going for.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.