We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill

the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill
42b Ma May, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3200 1289
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,007 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Myself and two travel friends had a great meal here there was a small hiccup with the food not coming out all at the same time but this was picked up by Keith the owner and a complimentary drink came straight a way and the last meal followed a great place to eat no worries.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed everything.....sorry again about the hiccup.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    83
    30
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was so good, it made me homesick for more western food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After 4 weeks of predominately Asian food in Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam, I was eager to have some real western food. The Moose and Roo did not let me down. I had the roast chicken and mango sandwich. The chicken was roasted perfectly, tasted so good. The sourdough bread was toasted and the combination of the tomatoes and mango was amazing. The chips on the side were crispy and salted like they should be.
The wait staff was friendly, attentive and welcoming. What pleasure to talk to them!
Although it was one of our most expensive meals in SE Asia (we had some drinks too), it was worth every penny.
The restaurant itself is beautiful - newly renovated and very clean and comfortable. If I wasn't leaving Hanoi, I would definitely come back another day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We really enjoy reading reviews like this, it makes us want to do even better. Our staff was very happy to read such a glowing review. Sorry to hear we caught you at the tail end of your visit, it would have been nice to welcome you back.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Good Food, Not much atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Visited with a friend for dinner. Food was not bad at all (pity about the factory standard french fries) they could improve by making hand-cut chips or wedges.... For Hannoi, it really is quite expensive. That said, I had a steak sandwich that melted in my mouth, so they obviously use quality meat. I did see a western chef, perhaps that would explain the prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for you nice comments. We are not the least expensive restaurant in Hanoi but all of our ingredients are very carefully sources including the Waikato Rib-eye steak that was used for your sandwich. With importing ingredients and sourcing pesticide free produce we must factor this into our pricing. If you compare our prices to any good restaurant in the West we are much more inexpensive than most. Thanks again for your time.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is the best choise for eat in Ha Noi, the food so good, the people very nice and helpful i will come back here soon. thank you so much.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts, we will try to maintain the standards you have come to expect from the Moose and Roo. Looking forward to your next visit

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bland burger OK entree”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

After all the great food we ate through Vietnam based on trip advisors advice this was the first let down. The burger looked to be a signature dish but was lacklustre; the patty was cumbersome and tasteless, to be honest a watery mess :(

On the flip side the entrees were ok, the wings had a nice spice to them and the chips poutine was a welcome western dish, they had bud beer which was also a nice surprise.

Overall we did not enjoy ourselves here especially for the price, a real pity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. As you can see we normally have guests who really enjoy our burger. I sincerely wish you would have brought your dissatisfaction to the attention of our staff when they checked on your table and we could have fixed it. Glad to hear you enjoyed your starters. Hope you enjoyed your other meals in Hanoi.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.