We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing space after a long day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polite Pub

Polite Pub
5b Bao Khanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 90 419 80 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Fast Food, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of old Hanoi, just a few steps away from the historic Hoan Kiem lake, Polite Pub & Whisky Bar is one of the first bar/pub establishments in Hanoi, serving ice cold beer with cool music, free foosball table since 1995. Recently renovated, Polite Pub now is a local favourite as a place-to-be to chill out after work with great cigar selection, a decent wine list and a large selection of single malt whiskies and other great drinks. Happy Hour from 4pm - 8pm, half-price house wines, classic cocktails, draught beers
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing space after a long day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After a long day at work, this place gives me much pleasure when finding a pub to relax. The music list contains of all jazz, which suits me much. The drinks are made decently, which skills I don't see at many pub in Hà Nội. Good place to chill out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“My favourite Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love this Pub and also a place with the most wonderful memories with my all dearest Vietnamese friends , i always had a great great time whenever i came back to my homeland . Friendly staff , cozy , great atmosphere . Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem in the old quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just off the main road around Hoan Kiem lake lies this classic style pub/whisky bar which is one of the oldest in Hanoi still running strong from 1995. As a whisky lover, this is truly a heaven for me with a good selection of Scotch and Japanese whiskies. They have cigars, wine and imported beers also. Service was professional, the staff are very friendly with smiles all around.
A must-go when you're in Hanoi. As for me, this will be my regular place to hang out after work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely vintage style pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My favourite after-work joint. The atmosphere is nice and cozy, makes you feel like home, I love the music list also, very relaxing. Large collection of cocktails, whisky, wine and cigar which will make everyone happy. Definitely recommendable

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was our favorite pub esp when we went out to meet friends (without children) :). However, this was not only the place that we came. Try "bia hoi" with local people. You should like it too

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polite Pub also viewed

 

Been to Polite Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polite Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.