We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it to take a seat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. S

Mr. S
24 Hang Can Street, Hoan Kiem District | It is very near night street and Hoan Kiem lake., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
+(84)01656663858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 835 restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Vietnamese, Ice Cream, Hong Kong, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth it to take a seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have seen the advertisement of the shop, and then take a seat. It is quite small and many low chairs. The staff are beautiful and helpful. Especially the dessert , we have never tried before. You will think may be the shop too small not like a restaurant. We are satisfied with the desert and looking outside the motorbikes crazy pass. Enjoy the moment in Vietnam culture. We like to experience different, if not I don't need to go other county to travel. We come here for two nights already, and hope to see them again later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    18
    2
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea how this got number 1.
The atmosphere and the service was great but the food is overpriced and not that great. Overall it's ok but not worthy of the number one spot in TripAdvisor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What the hell !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

So firstly I'd been saving this place for a special treat... After dinner at a great restaurant we went here for dessert. I'm still confused!! There are seriously two items on the 'menu' both being waffles with chocolate sauce! There are about 6 seats so don't go with a large group! Having said all that, my waffles with chocolate sauce and peanut butter were pretty yummy! I'm baffled as to how this makes the list of top places to eat in Hanoi!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Potentially manipulated reviews, but a nice stop off all the same!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you want to sit eat yummy waffles with strange flavours of icecream with an equally strange flavour of sugary beverages Mr S will not disappoint!

Probably not worthy of a top 5 restaurant, or even being called a restaurant... but service was great, prices were low and I enjoyed my little red stool watching the madness of the street next to me!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited this small food shop based on Tripadvisor rating (#1 and 5 stars at the time). We were extremely disappointed. We had waffles (Juliet In Love) and ice cream scoops. The waffles were not good - very plain and not cooked well. The ice cream scoops were very small. All items we had were way over priced given the quality and amount of the food. Not a good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. S also viewed

 

Been to Mr. S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. S, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.