We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daluva Restaurant And Bar

Daluva Restaurant And Bar
33 To Ngoc Van, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3718 5831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 835 restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Contemporary creative restaurant/bar in the center of beautiful To Ngoc Van Village, on Hanoi's West Lake. All day seasonal menus, innovative hand crafted cocktails, home made cheeses, home made spirits, home made everything. Always new. Always exciting. Singular.
1 review
“Wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW via mobile

We decided to wander around near our hotel in the West Lake. Nothing was really popping up for us until around the corner I noticed a name that I had read about while researching the different areas in Hanoi. I thought wow that could be a nice change after all the Pho. And it wasn't a disappointment. The food was fantastic. The staff friendly and attentive. This is Hanoi on its modern outlook.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great food choice....& a nice alternative to what you're getting most days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

It's great to have a different meal option in a city that has such great choices already. We went for the Sunday brunch and though I'm not generally a fan of brunches (it seems it's the same menu at most places) I was very pleasantly surprised by our meal. Yes, the traditional choices were here (and well enjoyed by others at my table), but I actually had a new take on brunch: "the green eggs" clay pot eggs over spinach with truly amazing spices! It's a quick (& cheap!) ride away from the Old Quarter center of Ha Noi and very much worth it. The bottomless (& nicely varied) Bloody Marys were a nice feature too.

A great choice and a nice alternative to all the traditional Asian food you've probably been having!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Probably the best eggs Benedict it the city. He does them on little cornbread cakes instead of English muffins- a vast and ingenious improvement on a classic dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Daluva rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Daluva hits a lot of high points for a Hanoi restaurant. Yes, the food is wonderful, and yes the prices are reasonable. Yes, the selection is good and diverse. But what really makes Daluva great is Shahar's personal touch. He does a great job to help make your dining experience what you'd like it to be. Daluva hosted a dinner I was organizing and did a fabulous job catering the event. I can't recommend it enough. Great place!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, definitely worth a trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you're staying in Westlake, it's a no-brainer, and even if you are staying in Hoan Kiem, it is well worth the 10-15 minute taxi ride. Run by an Israeli-American who understands and cares about the tastes of both his homelands, this cafe was a total hit with our whole family. My kids were eager for Western food, and Shay's menu did a great job hitting the mark. The hummus is some of the best I've ever had, in any country. And I went back for the falafel sandwich as well, which was excellent. This was our kids' #1 favorite restaurant of our 10 day stay in Hanoi. Thank you Shay/Shahar!

PS, next door is the best gelato in Hanoi, at the newly opened Gelateria. The neighborhood expats swarming the place confirmed our judgment and said it was hands down the best in town.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daluva Restaurant And Bar also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Daluva Restaurant And Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daluva Restaurant And Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.