We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; away from traffic noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thang Long Opera Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thang Long Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thang Long Opera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Tong Dan St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location; away from traffic noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at beginning of our Vietnam tour and then one more night/full day on our last night. Rooms on the 6th floor were spacious and updated. AC was nice, wi-fi worked great and the breakfast selection was very good. It's easy walking distance to Old Quarter, Lake and other attractions. Beds are kind of hard but so were all the mattresses during our stay in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    27
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
10
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our family of 4 (2 teenagers) for 2 nights, as part of a tour. This is a no-thrills, 3 star hotel: what you see is what you get.

Rooms are adequate, with hard beds & pillows and oldfashioned room styling. Aircon is good, though public spaces have no aircon (?), except for the breakfast room and reception area. View is on a busy street, but trafffic noise in the evening and at night is bearable. This is not an oasis, but just a place for a short stay.

The hotel is on walking distance from the Ho Guom city lake, and also from the opera building, some parks where people have many leisure activities in the evening and from the old city.

Breakfast is mostly Asian style and very limited in choice for Westerners. Tidyness in the breakfast room is so-so.

If I would have had to book myself, I would not have picked this place for lack of comfort, but for our sightseeing tour in Vietnam for our family, it was adequate.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor, because of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is very well in order to visit Hanoi. The rooms are quite old, the bathrooms very small. We stayed here twice and the bathroom was better in the first room, so there seem to be different standards of renovation. The rooms are very badly isolated and you can hear all the street noise which makes sleep quite difficult. The breakfast selection was very poor, as well as the quality (e.g. juices were mixed with water and tasted only like water).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The two of us spent 3 nights here as the 1st part of our 7 night Holiday in Vietnam in . In a nutshell it is a cosy, 60's sort of place, somewhat like St Andrews in Sri Lanka,( St Andrews much better finesse ) with its unique, musty, old smells and feeling, and was a good place to start our holiday.

Location was central and convenient .Situated close to the Lake, and some shopping areas.
Checking in was smooth and easy with minimal hanging around. Reception just collected our passports, gave us the room key, got us to identify our baggage and mark it, and 10 minutes after arrival, we were in our room. Now why cant every hotel do that ?

Our double room with a large wash room was spacious with amenities that make your life comfortable away from home were available. There was the usual shampoos and stuff, pressurized hot water, hair dryer, pair of slippers etc. Two free drinking water bottles were provided each day, but we missed the fruit basket....

Room was comfortable, large and air conditioned. The doors open into a dimly lit corridor, and there was no view as such from the window. Linen was clean and smelt good and welcoming.

Bed and pillows were comfy and we were able to have a good night's sleep without being disturbed by the Hanoi street noises or close by rooms, which was great. The big LCD TV, provided a grainy, snowy array of Vietnamese channels and would disappoint people who'd want to watch TV.( We don't ! ) Don't expect a great room service, but if you want a morning cup of coffee, then they will send someone with the sachets.

Breakfast was quiet OK for a 3 star hotel. The noodle soup was great. They provide forks and spoons, so you don't have to struggle with chopsticks.

Staff , on the day we arrived, there was some sort of a big function going , so the reception was super busy and had little time for us. But we got what we wanted and that seemed to be OK for us. They were courteous, spoke English well and when the two of us wanted a large bed instead of 2 separate ones, they agreed and complied without any fuss.

Our luggage was ferried across to and back from the bus to the room without any problem, and this was great.

There was a free WIFI connection, though the signal was weak, I could check my mail and learn about the places we were to visit next day without a problem. When on holiday, that is only what I wanted.

So, we got more than what we wanted from a 3 star hotel. Would I recommend it to a friend, Yes. Specially if you , like me, like 60's feel , and don't mind the lack of ultra modern gadgetry. All in all it was a nice, cosy 3 star hotel, which delivers what it promises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch Alps
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our first hotel during our Vietnam tour. The service was fine, the room we had was spacious with everything needed in it. Don't expect a nicely decorated choice of furniture though, it is more a 60's style. Clean it was and the king size bed was super.
If you want to avoid the same mistake we made: don't forget to turn on the 'hot water' switch an hour or so before your bath or you will sit in freezing cold water.....
Location is excellent, so close to the lake and to the old quarter.
Restaurant/breakfast basic, basic, basic...
Staff speaks/understand hardly any english.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in total (the first night on the 4th floor and the last two nights on the top floor. The rooms were large & were newly decorated. The bathroom was quite big and had a walk in shower. The hotel is just under a ten minute walk to the old quarter which was perfect as it was not too close to the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The breakfast was nothing special just ok - not very much choice. However, I would recommend the hotel, the reception team were very helpful, the rooms were nice and for the price I thought it was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights on a business trip. The rooms were nice and friendly, the furniture quite new and also the bathroom seemed to be renovated only recently. One big disadvantage was the very bad internet connection. I could hardly connect to the Wifi and also plugging in the cable on the desk did not speed up the connection. But all in all enjoyed the room very much!

The breakfast however wasn't that great. Honestly I expected much more from hotel in this category. It was rather comparable to a 2-star hotel breakfast buffet. In addition the staff in the restaurant was not friendly at all and I did not feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thang Long Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thang Long Opera Hotel

Address: 1C Tong Dan St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thang Long Opera Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Thang Long Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thang Long Opera Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thang Long Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.