We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids of all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thang Long Water Puppet Theater

Thang Long Water Puppet Theater
57B Dinh Tien Hoang, Hanoi, Vietnam
84 04 8249494
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$94*
and up
Private Tour: Hanoi City Tour Including Water...
Ranked #14 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Traditional legends and historical tales are among the enchanting puppet plays performed at this popular theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great for kids of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We really were not sure what to expect but we loved it! The show is naive in the best possible way, utterly charming and without pretension but with enormous skill and artistry. The puppetry is great but so is the music and the players make what is often a challenging sound approachable and enjoyable to a western ear without compromising the musics roots.
But most of all it is just great great fun and should not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,315
    1,474
    814
    218
    97
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A fun traditional show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Was a great thing to do whilst in Hanoi. I would recommend buying tickets during the day as it was packed and annoyingly they let people in once the show had started.

A fun thing to do. Very clever.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What on earth was going on?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We got the last seats so they put up seats in the aisle, which were horrible because there was a big box in the way so we could only see the things on the right side. i thought the puppets were quite cute but the "singing" was a bit like catawauling. the music was great and the puppetry was quite good. i ( as a eleven yr old girl ) got bored quite quickly and actually fell asleep. I thought it went on for too long but it was an 'experience'. The tickets were only about 5 dollars so it was probably worth going for about 20 minutes, not an hour.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting. A cultural experience worth doing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It only costs about $5 to see this show which lasts about 50 minutes. It is quite interesting with different vignettes played out by a range of water puppets. The accompanying music is very 'cultural' but I didn't always find it easy to listen to. The show is cute and funny at times too. All the puppets are quite different and the stories are easy to understand. It's definitely worth an hour sitting in a warm, slightly cramped theatre.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Unique, funny and creative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Yes, it was crowded; no I couldn't understand the language; yes there were a few inconsiderate people overusing their cameras. But it was funny and obviously extremely well done with both musicians and puppeteers clearly experts in their fields. I really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thang Long Water Puppet Theater also viewed

 

Been to Thang Long Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.