We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be stunning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Lake

West Lake
Ba Dinh District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The largest lake n Hanoi is a popular spot for gathering, surrounded by many shops, restaurants, gardens, and hotels. It features the Trấn Quốc Pagoda, Vietnamese for "Stabilizing the Nation."
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This could be stunning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This broad lake, about a 15 minute walk from the Old Quarter, could be an amazing attraction in this busy, bustling city, but unfortunatley it seems to be just a drainage outlet for the surrounding streets and not sufficiently valued at this point of time. It has a wonderful range of buildings and city-life experiences on display around its 14km+ shore line and could be major attraction for those moving out of the Old Quarter to the Mausoleum, Military History Museum etc. We had hoped to hire bicycles at the lake and ride around it but could not find anywhere to do this. Given the attention that is being paid to tourism in this amazing part of the world, I hope that in a few years this will be a major attraction for local and international visitors.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    300
    125
    25
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Less hectic than the Old Quarter- a elecrtic bus ride around the lake gave nice vies and a breather from walking in the heat and traffic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice lake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Really a center of the city, with everything around it, the lake is unavoidable. The best time to visit it and the area around should be in the morning, before traffic gets too horrible, although we had a really nice time during some sunny hours a February afternoon, eating ice cream.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koriyama, Japan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Paradise in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

In Hanoi, West Lake is the largest lake and also the most beautiful. I stayed in a hotel near West Lake because I found it very beautiful lake before I came but it was even greater when I saw it directly. West Lake is very beautiful and there are so many things to see
In the morning, the lake is very beautiful. From the window of my room I can see the whole lake with a lot of people, mainly the elderly and women are exercising at the lake, it is quite interesting.
The time I arrived in Hanoi is early summer so the weather was quite hot. I usually go for a walk along the lake after lunch to feel more comfortable and feel cooler.
West Lake in the evening becomes quite active. The lights are turned up all over the lake make it seem very beautiful and romantic. There is a very interesting thing is that there are many couples go to the West Lake for a date that made me feel lonely and sad when coming to the lake alone
There are many things to visit and experience there such as visit pagodas, temples near the lake and participate in duck boat game, this is very interesting.
West Lake is surrounded by many hotels, especially 5-star hotels with good services and you can have a good view of the lake from your room.
Although there are some places in the West have garbage and smells very bad but anyway this is my favorite place in Ha Noi.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

You should get out there in a very nice breeze day with the sun and blue sky. The whole place look like heaven on earth. Not sure about the bad weather day :))

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.