We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this just a piece of twisted metal?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huu Tiep Lake and the Downed B-52

Huu Tiep Lake and the Downed B-52
Ngo 55, Hoang Hoa Tham, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
490 helpful votes 490 helpful votes
“Is this just a piece of twisted metal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We got to this site by mistake. We thought we were going to a Military Museum with aircraft. After a lot of weaving through small alleys and neighbourhoods, travelling much further than we were expecting, we came upon a precinct. Here in a pond, which was in dire need of having its algae problem sorted, we saw the remains of a downed US aircraft. Life in the neighbourhood carried on. We were the only visitors. Just us and a non English speaking taxi driver. He waited for us because he knew the chance of another taxi showing up was highly unlikely, and he knew we wouldn't be long, a few photos, a bit of a walk around and we would be out of there. So why do people come? We are just looking at a pile of metal and a couple of wheels, part of a plane. This wreckage in a pond was celebrating defeat of the most powerful nation on the planet. What did it have to tell us? Not much. But the journey to get there was great: a drive through ordinary streets with ordinary people out and about their business. Eventually we were taken to the Museum we though we were going to in the first place, to find it had closed for lunch. Was there a message here? I don't think so other than a reminder than in the end the People's Will shall prevail and they will do whatever it takes to get there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“More than just 'a bit of wreckage'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is by no means top on the majorities things to see I Hanoi. This was off the map my hotel supplied me with. However, I would urge you to go, even if you are not into the history of the war. It gives you a chance to snake through the back allies and see people living their lives outside of catering to tourism. The buildings surrounding the lake are rather beautiful as well.

Once you get to the lake, it is at first unassuming. But it is the message that is most potent. A peasant, pre-industrialised country struggling against a global military super power and prevailing. This scrap of B-52, a weapon the caused so much suffering and death, is now surounded by life. There is even a primary school opposite the site which I found most fitting.

So please, go and see this and have an open mind. Some reviewers complain about it being 'Just a small bit of wreckage'. I would say youve missed the point, and perhaps direct you to the army museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth the Effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is not a spectacular site, but it was a worthwhile trip. The appeal for me is the idea of a piece of American airframe manufactured in either Seattle or Wichita...falling into a neighborhood in Hanoi...people were living their lives around it and continued to do so.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is tricky to find!! But we were glad we made the effort. There isn't much there except the wrek itself (although some of the surrounding alleyways are interesting in themselves), but we found it surprisingly moving just to see the wreckage lying there some 40 years on. Would recommend - if you can find it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Really, it should be called "a small twisted piece of metal from a B52 shot down over Hanoi", but I guess that's too long. The only thing giving away that this small pile of rubble is from an airplane is the landing wheel, other than that it's just some pieces of green metal in a small pond. Best thing about it is that it gives you a reason to walk around the small alleys surrounding it (ironically enough you can't walk 50 meters without walking past one of the thousand hole-in-a-wall-shops selling, among other junkfood, Coca Cola).

If you're in the area, go there. Then go for a walk in the botanical garden. It may cost you 2000 vnd but it's definitely more interesting. Don't go out of your way to see this one!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huu Tiep Lake and the Downed B-52 also viewed

 

Been to Huu Tiep Lake and the Downed B-52? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huu Tiep Lake and the Downed B-52, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.