We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely biased, but a good bit of history” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Military History Museum

Vietnam Military History Museum
28A Dien Bien Phu St., Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 (0) 4823-4264
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This repository of Vietnam's military history includes rooms full of war propganda, photographs and documents from wars against China, France, and the United States. The grounds feature several captured aircraft as well as a central structure build from the wreckage of French and American planes. Visitors may climb the flag tower, with great views from the top.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Definitely biased, but a good bit of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beware that several attractions in Hanoi close down over the lunch hour, which means you have to leave. Unfortunately the museum was closed when we arrived, so we browsed around outside and then left.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    198
    109
    27
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A collection of objects rather than a museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This museum has an extensive collection of war relics, but what disappointed me was the lack of information on the historical events leading to the wars and the significance of the different battles to the final war outcomes. I learnt more and was more emotionally engaged by the military museum in Ho Chi Minh City, even though this museum was mostly photographs and only had a fraction of the number of war relics this museum has. There is plenty of potential for this museum with good curation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very interesting. Lovely old building. It is really great to get another perspective of how tough life was in the times of war.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Traumatic and Graphic compilation of conflicts.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I can say that the outside displays are interesting to military buffs and the curious
I can say I made it inside the museum until the first graphic displays of children in a warzone.
I could not bear to see the rest and left.

To those who think war is all guts and glory, come here to see the truth and the reason why all old soldiers have nightmares trying to reconcile their actions as young men.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Reverse Perspective on American History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This museum is not fun and it's not meant to be. If you are American, it should be on your itinerary because we need to view all points of reference to our history. And it's not only about the effect of the war on Vietnamese but also the Americans and their children. The reality is very thought provoking about corporations and their contribution to wars and the American choices in how we fight them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Military History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Military History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Military History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.