We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Calypso Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Calypso Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 11E Trung Yen Lan, Dinh Liet Street | Hoan Kiem District, Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #19 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a fantastic find - great location, lovely rooms and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We only stayed with them one night but nothing was too much trouble. We arrived very early, but they accommodated us, we left our luggage whilst we went off to Halong Bay. Whilst we were away they arranged our train tickets to Da Nang - even escorting us to the station, managed to get tickets to the theatre which we thought was sold out - so friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    69
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
332
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is slightly more expensive than other hotels in Hanoi but it could be well worth it.

The best part about this hotel is its excellent service. The staff were very helpful and they have an excellent colour map to guide us around the area. The staff also gave good tips as to where to get authentic vietnamese food, where to get coffee etc. And the amazing part is they always wear a smile and stand up when I am leaving the hotel. Makes it hard for me to not be generous with tips!

We got upgraded to a junior suite on our stay but there is not much difference between a suite and a non-suite (I stayed another night in a normal room) so I would say there might not be a need to pick a suite.

Location:
It is located in the old quarters and you only need to walk a few minutes and you will hit the streets where there are lots of shops around. It is also a 5 minutes walk to the Lake.

The staff can help you hire cars, bikes, tours etc.

I got the hotel to provide a transfer from the airport to the hotel for US18. I'm sure I can get it cheaper but whatever.

The only thing that upset me a little before the trip is that I had some communication breakdown with Kevin, the manager of the hotel. I needed 2 return tickets Hanoi - Sapa and it took me many emails and in the end I still couldn't confirm it before I arrived in Hanoi at the hotel. Also, the price he quoted me changed several times. In the end, the price I paid for a 1 way trip is US40. He also did not confirm my airport transfer from the airport to the hotel which left me wondering whether I am gonna be picked up by anyone at the airport.

Other than that, I am extremely happy with our stay and will gladly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Not much difference between a suite and a non suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Kevin Le, the hotel manager & his staff make such a wonderful team. They are very friendly & helpful, always greet customers with big sweet smiles even though I reached hotel at 5 in the morning after Sapa trip. The pick up services to & from Hanoi railway station is great, the hotel officer even packed breakfast for us to bring to the night train heading to Sapa. They also serve yummy beef pho & free flow of fresh fruits juices for breakfast. I will definitely stay here again the next trip i visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I cannot recommend the Hotel Calypso and it's staff enough. You are looked after from the moment you arrive, the breakfast is tasty and the rooms spacious and clean. Above everything it is the staff that make this place truly unforgettable when staying in Hanoi. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The stay was fantastic. Staying in the Old Quarter was awesome.All the life and hustle were right outside the door but in the hotel it was quiet and very comfortable. The staff was extremely nice, helpful,knowledgeable, and their language skills were very good. They would call you a cab and the doorman would escort you to the cab and tell the driver in Vietnamese where you wanted to go. Until you expierence Hanoi traffic you will not appreciate how important and wonderful this is.The breakfasts were great- wonderful bread, fruit and you could order any kind of eggs.There were other things you could order.All this for $50/night. I totally recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I ever get the chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and I was travelling alone. I loved the location - on the second day I felt like it was my new neighborhood. It is superbly located to great restaurants - one of the best pho restaurants is 30 seconds walk away. It was near most of the tourist attractions as well. I adored walking in the lanes and if I didn't stay here I would not have ventured so deeply into Chinatown. The staff are so helpful and friendly. They even lent me a laptop and have chargers and anything you need. They always arranged transport and the drivers they chose were friendly and didnt try to rip you off as most taxi drivers all around the world tend to.
I thought the rooms were well kept and clean. They had cable tv and good AC. I also adored their breakfasts! they had such a good choice and range and the quality was superb. I actually miss their breakfasts of pho spring rolls and croissants with an omelette! where else can you get that eclectic mix? If I go back to Hanoi - I am definitely staying there again. (PS I stayed one night at the Metropole as I wanted to experience it but I found myself missing this hotel. Sometimes, 5 star just doesn't have the x factor.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Choosing a hotel in Hanoi was a challenge due to the plethora of affordable, well-rated options. Based on photos, one hotel just started to blend in with another but this one caught our eye for its simple and clean look.

The hotel gets you easy walkable access to all the sites in the Old Quarter. It's on a side street but the hotel staff are super and they pick you up right off the main street and carry your bags to the hotel and back. Everyone from the front desk to the bell hops were super duper accommodating and friendly. They can do everything from booking tickets to printing out boarding passes, etc. on your behalf. Breakfast was also pretty substantial. Though after a few days of it, we ventured out to try other places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Address: No 11E Trung Yen Lan, Dinh Liet Street | Hoan Kiem District, Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.