We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum - plenty of general interest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnamese Women's Museum

Vietnamese Women's Museum
36 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hang Bai Ward, Hoan Kiem District | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
(+84-4) 38259936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 Reviews
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Focused on the contribution of women to Vietnam's history and culture, this museum highlights their roles in Vietnam's many military conflicts as well as in commerce, including features on female street vendors, women's role in the family, and more recently, single mothers in Vietnam.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great museum - plenty of general interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were a bit sceptical but what a great museum - best display of info about the Vietnam and French wars and although focussed on the female fighters and impact on village life it gave the best context to what the country has been through. Don't miss the poignant video of interviews with the women who sell fruit/flowers/food etc on the streets - it really puts your life in perspective.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    554
    118
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quite interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

OK, so I'm not a museum sort of person so take my comments with a pinch of salt. I was recommended to go to this "quite amazing place" and after looking up the reviews saw that it did seem to be a must-do. The only merit in submitting a review is if you are honest (can you sense I'm reluctant?) but unless you have particular interest in the creditable work women did in the war, ethnic costumes, traditional handicrafts, old posters and artifacts owned by famous Vietnamese women, it seems a pleasant diversion for an hour or so. I have every admiration for these women, but the museum although good, just didn't rate the raves.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent museum with very good facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very interesting exhibits and nicely laid out. Good for an hour's visit. Lockers available and best of all a playroom for young children with things to occupy them - Lego kept our boys happy for an hour.

Worthy visit and can see why it is highly rated on TA.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Before travelling to Sapa and Halong, I had one day and one night in Hanoi. I had read on internet that Tripadvisor named Vietnam Women's Museum as the most attractive tourist destination in 2012. I was so confused , don't now interesting it is. So I came to visit it in the afternoon. I saw a beautiful construction and meaningful exhibition. And i knew why it became the most attractive destination in Hanoi.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Powerful women”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Loved the museum although still in a state of being completed. Having visited sapa it brought all of our recently acquired knowledge together with greater understanding. Gave an all round view of the contribution that women have made in Vietnam. Spent a couple of hours here and it was pretty quiet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnamese Women's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vietnamese Women's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnamese Women's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.