We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it be real? It can! Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Star Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Splendid Star Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 19 Au Trieu st, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #69 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Munich
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Can it be real? It can! Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Staid here twice for one night each (in between Halong Bay) on a trip through SE Asia with my wife. What a steal, what a convenient location in the old town, what friendly service and what a charming room. We really enjoyed our stay here and wish we could have hung out there longer. We could store our luggage for one day between our stays with no problem. Breakfast was excellent. Absolutely to be recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    43
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
127
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite (free of charge) due to the length of our trip.
Daisy and co were super helpful, they arrange reputable taxis and have great local knowledge.
They also arranged a fantastic surprise for my partners birthday.

The breakfast is fine, they will try and feed you more but in the heat of hanoi and the all the asian food in the afternoons and evenings we were quite happy with a simple slice of toast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

i stayed at this hotel for two nights at this hotel with my girlfriend and i found the staffs to be the best thing about this hotel. The room was clean and really comfortable. The location is great and close to everything. Also good value for money. i will surely stay here again. Fully recommended...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Right in the centre of the city, great location to go walkabout. 10 minutes to the infamous Hanoi Hilton Prison and similar to the main park and French Quarter. Staff were fantastic and room very clean . Well worth staying at

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite, it's still very cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After a 12 hr flight from London UK, we arrived at Splendid Star Boutique after an hour's drive through the city from the airport at 7am, arriving in a tiny side street to an even tinier hotel entrance, hubby and I were thinking 'oh no, this does not look great' but it turned out ok. Our room was not ready which was a bit disappointing after such a long journey but check-out time is 12pm which is fair enough so we had a walk around the very nearby lake which actually turned out to be a good thing and rather refreshing, it was lovely seeing all the elderly locals doing their ti chi at the waters edge.

The hotel is in a great location in the Old Town, a short walk from the CRAZY streets - I have never seen so many mopeds in my life, they do not stop for you at crossings, you just have to walk out slowly and they avoid you! - and tucked away in a small side street that reminded me of the lanes in Brighton (if you know Brighton!) with some really nice bars and lots of hustle and bustle to watch as you drink the cheapest Tiger beer ever - approx $1usd!

Our room was on the top (4th?) floor and has everything you need, a great shower, very comfy bed and a free laptop and wifi which is a nice touch. The breakfast was pretty good, made to order but the breakfast room is super small with three large round tables and you just have to sit with whoever is already there! The staff (Simon) are very friendly and helpful and called the tour company for us when the pick up instructions were not clear. We did an overnight to Halong bay (see my other review, the best place on EARTH, day trip is much too short at 3hrs drive each way so make sure to stay on a boat overnight) so had the room for 3 nights but only stayed 2.

All in all, a nice stay in retrospect, although one small gripe - they need to put toilet roll holders next to the loo and not leave the loo roll on the back of the toilet. They could also make a shelf large enough to hold your shampoo etc in the shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and were met by Simon. He was so welcoming and extremely polite. We also met Tuan and Daisy who were both just as delightful. The rooms were clean, crisp and cool. Breakfast had so many good choices, with hot and cold drinks too. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a good night's sleep. Very handy for a walk to the old prison, or a short taxi/tuk tuk ride further into town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Splendid Star Boutique. Everything was perfect! The hotel is located near the lake and it was very easy to walk around the city. Staff are very kindly and help us to book the Halong Bay Cruise and the day tour to TamCoc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splendid Star Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Boutique Hotel

Address: No 19 Au Trieu st, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splendid Star Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Star Boutique hotel is where the visitors can stay when they are in Hanoi. It is designed in a modern mixed with classic style, with the motto of golden service, our hotel will certainly bring the tourists the most enjoyable experience.Please come and feel. Your every need and comfort will be cared by our well trained and long experienced staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Splendid Star Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Star Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.