We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, missing amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Street Backpackers Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Street Backpackers Hostel
Save
You added Street Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
43 LY QUOC SU, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great hostel, missing amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had a great stay here. Ads are misleading, as there is no hot tub, book exchange, or bicycle hire. There is AMAZING wifi (all floors), a nice (other than owner, not great with effectively answering questions) family staff, and tour operations available. Breakfast was nice (didn't expect to be served breakfast!) and maps were great. Clean and good value. Blankets being included is always nice! Quiet vibe.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Hostel was very clean and the staff were very friendly, Lio helped us out with a problem even after we had left via Facebook!

We booked a trip to Ha Long Bay at the hostel as well as our open bus ticket - both were made very simple processes.

Would definitely recommend, and the free beer is a nice touch!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were pretty lucky to find this stay in Hanoi. The owner Lio and his little family have been so nice to us..they showed us around, took us to the local market and the zoo...helped us to find a good motorbike and everything else we needed for our motorbike trip.
It was a great experience and we are very happy that we ended up staying at the Street Backpackers Hostel! If you wanna stay in a nice hostel which is not packed with party tourist and have a real Hanoi experience...choose this one.
In addition to that they made my birthday very special! Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a fine cheap hostel. The accommodations are nothing special but for the price, it was worth it. The staff were friendly and the location was great. Breakfast was also included which was a nice touch. I'd definitely recommend this hostel for budget travelers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, good location, friendly staff. Lio knows the best places to eat in Hanoi. Free breakfast and one-hour free beer... ;)
In my opinion, the best value for money in Hanoi (after 2 weeks in the city this year and 2 more last year)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A great place to stay if you are a budget traveler, looking for a fun social place to stay amongst the old quarter. Free beer and rice wine from 8-9 brings everyone together so great for meeting new people.
The family that run the place are very friendly and helpful. Happy to make any bookings for you. Laundry service available.

We stayed in the 3rd floor dorm which was spacious enough with a multi-purpose bathroom like most places in Vietnam.

Would happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

On our first day in Hanoi, we found this hostel and ended up staying for about a month. The staff here is amazing and extremely helpful. The place has everything you need and can organize tours, transportation, and visa extensions. I will definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Street Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Street Backpackers Hostel

Address: 43 LY QUOC SU, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a nice, cheap and quiet place to stay in the heart of Hanoi?Don't look further, this place is for you!2 Big & clean dorm rooms with 10 KS single beds in each.2 Bathrooms with hot water/hairdryersTV/Kitchen/Drinks downstairsBreakfast included in the price!Laundry Service ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Street Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.