We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Hotel & Travel

Friendly Hotel & Travel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Friendly Hotel & Travel to your Saves list
Friendly Hotel & Travel
No. 68 Ma May, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 450 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place owned by a great family. Our room was clean and well decorated, offering a warm and homey atmosphere. The bed was more firm than I like, but the atmosphere was worth it as well as the price. This was also a great location within old town.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We are thrilled with friendly service and responsiveness from the hotel staff. Hotel name corresponds to the services provided. Nice attitude to customers and initiative in planning our trip. If you do not know where to go to Vietnam and you have not had time to plan, do not worry, it will help to make the hotel staff. We are happy that stayed at this hotel. A special thank you - Do Han :)!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

In this hotel stayed for 5 nights. Rooms clean and tidy. The hotel is in a good location in the old Quarter Staff is very friendly and helpful. Helped put the trip through Vietnam. I suggest to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The hotel is very nice and the prices are reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or would stay again. Most remarkable was Thoi's ... he is one of the nicest Vietnamese that I've ever met. Without his support my journey wouldn't have been as nice. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentong Town, Pahang, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

It was my first time in Hanoi. The front desk staff was very friendly. He helped me to visit all the interesting places and even gave me a ticket to watch a local music performance. If I ever come back to Hanoi, I'd definitely choose this hostel again :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed here for five nights, the service at this hostels is amazing! The staff at the front desk helped me book my flights, helped me get my Chinese visa. It's in a great location, just a two minute walk from hanoi backpackers hostel. They have private air conditioned rooms for a good price. We also booked our Sappa and Halong bay trips through this hotel and they got us a great deal! You must stay here if you come to hanoi!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed at Friendly Hotel for about two weeks when I first came to Hanoi. The hotel is located right in the heart of the Old Quarter, but despite the bustling streets of the 'Phố Cổ' it still has a relaxed atmosphere and it's perfectly quiet in the rooms, which are flawless: modern furniture, comfortable beds, TV, big clean bathroom, reasonable price. As others already pointed out, the manager is a really friendly and capable guy. He even helped me with my first steps learning Vietnamese and spared no pain to find a locksmith at 2am in the morning when I broke my key in the lock.

The hotel will also help you arrange your trips to Halong Bay, Sapa etc. I never booked anything here because I went on a motorbike trip myself thus I can't vouch for that, but in two weeks I never saw any discontent faces or heard people complain.

All in all this is definitely my favourite hotel in Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendly Hotel & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Hotel & Travel

Address: No. 68 Ma May, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 450 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter, Hanoi Friendly Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hanoi. Only 45 km away, this 2-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With the city's main attractions such as Museum Of Independence, Old Quarter, Hang Ngang Hang Dao within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.Hanoi Friendly Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Hanoi. A selection of top-class facilities such as bicycle rental, valet parking, laundry service/dry cleaning, concierge, airport transfer can be enjoyed at the hotel.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with shower, separate shower and tub, desk, internet access – LAN (complimentary), hair dryer in each room. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Hanoi Friendly Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Friendly Hotel & Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Hotel & Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.