We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less is More Part 63 – Half-Hearted Cuisine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luc Bat Restaurant

Luc Bat Restaurant
No 60 - Phat Loc Alley - Next to No 2 Hang Bac Street - Old Quarter - Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter- Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi - Viet Nam, Hanoi, Vietnam
+(84) 4 62911458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #480 of 1,024 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Noodle, Grill, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Less is More Part 63 – Half-Hearted Cuisine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My Vietnamese colleagues are very obliging. When they know I am going to be in town, they will try to find a new restaurant for us to try. Sometimes I will also suggest something I came across on the internet eg. TA. (Needless to say there have been hits and misses.) So when I proposed Luc Bat, they collectively released an "incredulous gasp" - this place had never appeared on their radar. Unfazed, we went for mid-week dinner. It was empty - not a good sign.

Located on an incredibly narrow street which is barely wide enough for a car to pass through, we decided to sit upstairs. When the staff has to turn on the lights and fan as you go up, its yet another not-so-promising sign. I left it to the 'locals' to order what they deemed to be the house specials. Luc Bat is supposed to feature "mountain" ie. minority cuisine. We ordered five dishes to share - beef hotpot (good broth, tough meat), sweet sour frog (nice sauce, bony amphibians), pickled morning glory (interesting preparation), sausages (acquired taste, gamey), beef la lot (well-grilled, fibrous). None really stood out. Somehow the dishes just lacked enthusiasm. The service did not make much of an impression either - they did their job and that was it. Perhaps this was meant to be a drinking place cos the local wine was actually quite good and the food was merely an after-thought. As convivial as the environment was for a get-together among friends, I will probably not recommend you eat here unless you are too inebriated to go elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place of ALL in ONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

In contrast with the busy crisscrossed Old Quarter of Hanoi, when you enter Luc Bat, the peaceful atmosphere of the old architecture from French colony time and way they decor makes you feel a lot more than you coming for foods, but for the rich culture of Vietnam. Talking to the manager Huy - a very young professional owning this restaurant for the fun of meeting people and gathering friends- he would explain you the tales behind each picture on the wall.

There are quite varieties in the menu at reasonable prices. You can find chicken or beef or pork cooked in so many ways, very traditional Vietnamese which you never find in other countries.

My favorite here is Hotpot, each time coming here i tried different types. You must try also the sticky rice dish ''Xoi xeo''...yummy yummy, and the fresh roll ''Banh trang cuon thit ba chi''.

There are few dishes will surprise you, like...banana's flower salad..At first i thought ''How the hell people eat banana flower'', but believe me, its awesome. Try for yourself.

About staff, not all of them speak good English, but they are quite friendly, they would use their body language to explain you whatever you concern, and sometimes it turns out to be quite funny.

People might have different opinions about this restaurant, I have no argument with that. Different people - different tastes. But I myself felt in love with this place from the first time i came.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The prices are really expensive for a vietnamese place,
images on the menu other than the fact
alot of oil, sour foodsour food
but friendly staff although they do not speak English fluently

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“No way!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff, even if they are smily, doesnt speak English at all.
The prices are really expensive for a vietnamese place!
Nothing explains such prices.
I ordered some rolls with pork, no pork...just fat of the meat...disgusting! My worst experience in Vietnam.
No beverages excepted Coke and orange juice in bottle.
Nice atmosphere, smily waiters, but don't go there!
I don't understand the other reviews!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
“a must-try restaurant if you want to have cozy getothers with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A warm and comfortable restaurant, both indoor and outdoor space. As a crazy fan of handycraft things, I am really interested in the adorable decor of this restaurant. What is more impressive is the clean and tasty Vietnamese dishes. Helpful and friendly staff is another plus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luc Bat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Luc Bat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luc Bat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.