We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sun Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   33 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST DEAL @ WEBSITE ==>
Ranked #11 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Yes, indeed, it is home away from home...the moment my wife and I set foot in Golden Sun Palace Hotel, Hang Quat, in the Old Quarter of Hanoi...

A long tiring journey, from leaving home at an unearthly morning hour just so to be on time for the flight, by the time we got into Hanoi city proper it was almost mid-day, Hanoi time.

First impression counts most...and here the reception we received on arrival was par excellence. Instantly we were made to feel welcome...kudos to Mrs Flower, ever sweet smile. She showered us with care and concern and ensure we are as comfortable as can be. While waiting to check in we were offered a welcoming fruit juice drink.

Mrs Flower personally showed us to our room and was meticulous with her information about the hotel. A little while after we were left to rest a gentle knock on the door brought a smiling staff with a plate of complimentary fruits. Gosh! this hotel, though small by international standard, knows how to pamper its guests...

During our 4days stay we met the other friendly and helpful staff - Ms. Anna, Bruce, Aen, the chef and the bell boys. All told these wonderful people made our stay memorable. Breakfast, as provided, was a time we have some interaction time with the staff...and as the days plod on we get to feel more comfortable...incidentally, the hotel serves great daily breakfast with local and western offerings.

The hotel is new and the room well appointed. Bath facilities are not short of at least a 4-star rating. The King size bed is comfortable; pillows and bed sheets are clean. Though the overall room size is not large it nonetheless is well laid out to give optimal comfort.

Being in the Old Quarter, the hotel is within walking distance of many tourist sights; and shopping. The well known Hoan Kiem Lake, a must visit site in Hanoi, is within walking distance. Shopping, mostly housed along street-lined shops, are at every turn and corners of roads adjacent to the hotel. If one is adventurous local foods are aplenty in the vicinity of the hotel. Do not miss the Cha ca la vong grilled fish, Bun cha (rice noodle concoction of meat and vegetables), vietnamese beef noodles and assortment of food...not knowing what to expect we nervously ate out at one of the road side "squatting little tables" stall (for want of a better description)..and also the local dessert mix...to our surprise, it was good and tasty...the night market is festive, colorful and crowded...both motor cyclists and pedestrians jostle for space...a sea of motor cycles seems to be every where; and the incessant honing of the motor cyclists can be a tad unnerving...the days we were in Hanoi, the weather was hot, humid and with the crowd in the night market it was quite natural to perspire dripping sweat!

Back to the hotel. On the second day of our stay Bruce assisted us to negotiate and secure the service of a cyclo. In a new and strange place the cyclo offers sights and sound of the local scene at a slow pace...while the cyclo pedals along the main and arterial roads we took in the sights...from the Old Quarter to West Lake Ho Chi Min Mausoleum and Residence, and other interesting sights the cyclo was a great help in easing the stress on the legs!

A trip to Hanoi without a visit to the Halong Bay is incomplete, we were told. Here again, Mrs. Flower, was great to give us the most comprehensive and cost effective advice...and she did the necessary arrangement. Alas, we only managed a one day return visit. Still it was a lovely trip as we met travelers from other countries...and some wonderful camaraderie was forged...

Throughout our stay at Golden Sun Palace Hotel there was never a dull moment...the staff went beyond the usual straight-laced call of business...to establish cordial atmosphere with not just us, but also all other guests in the hotel as we observed. It was wonderful to chat, laugh, joke and share experiences like old friends...and this is exactly what made us feel..right at home...

Soon it was time for us to return home. We had to leave the hotel by 0600 hrs for the airport. Here again the staff went beyond the call of duty. The kitchen normally opens at 6.30am...but the chef and helpful Aen made sure we have our breakfast...so while the taxi was waiting they prepared and packed breakfast for us to take along...

...so as we leave for home we had to leave our other home...goodbye Golden Sun Palace Hotel...goodbye, Hanoi...

Mrs. Flower, Anna, Bruce, Aen and all the unnamed staff...cam on...

Edi Teoh/Grace Liew
September 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    36
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
161
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SINGAPORE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I made the decision to stay in this hotel after seeing some positive reviews. The hotel being located on a side lane with less traffic is a plus point to stay here. And yet with few minutes walk you will be in Hoan Khim lake. We stay at the romantic room and the size is not big but with comfortable bed, clean toliet with shower screen. No doubt view is limited but in my opinion no point having view when staying in old quarter hotel since most houses are very closed to each other and having a view mean you may well look into other people houses. However if you really want a view than you opt for a deluxe room with window and is slightly bigger. Daily free bottled of water and coffee/tea making facilities can be found in the room. Complimentary welcome cake and a small bottle of locally brewed red wine will be given on the first day. All the staff in the hotel are attentive and courteous at all time.
The best in this hotel beside the location is the tasty freshly cooked breakfast provided every morning. They give you fresh fruit and I personally like the delicious crab noodle and omelette.
Also this is the only hotel that provide you fresh mango juices. There are other items in the breakfast menu like fried rice and pancake etc. and you can choose and the cook will prepare and bring to you in couple of minutes. I do admire the cooking skill of the cook in this hotel he can cook well and fast. I have stayed more than 10 over hotels in Vietnames owned boutique hotel and by far this is the best. And you don't need to worry when getting up late in the morning as all breakfast will be freshly cooked for you.

Currently there is some renovation work next to the hotel as the same owner is building another
new hotel and will be ready to receive guests very soon. But only some noise will be heard during daytime. So we are out all day it is fine with us.

Hanoi traffic is really crazy especially during weekend so one must be careful to walk on the busy road and if crossing the main road better follow the local as the motorbikes and car can come from either way on the road and I keep wondering why so many motorbikes are allowed on the pedestrian path in the night market as well?

Overall this is a great hotel to stay as you will appreciate the location, staff and great tasty cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear DCEK
Greeting from Golden Sun Palace Hotel,

The service attributes you have mentioned will serve to reinforce the consistent delivery of our core standards, so thank you for having taken the time to highlight them.
We believe that your review would definitely be useful for the fellow travelers who's planning to visit Hanoi.
Please accept our sincere appreciation for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
" We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

During my 21 days trip I have stayed at 5 different hotels, 4 stars and 3 stars, stayI say that none had pleased more than the Golden Sun Palace.
Some rooms are tiny and small, but the 2 beds suites are awesome. The staff treated me as a family member, planned my visits and tours, gave me advices and daily sent me choclate and fruits.
The chef prepared my breakfast generously, and the way I like. Poly, Hanna, Anna, Flower and Bruce will take good care of you and all they ask for in return, is a smile and thank you.
I am sure many out there might and should treat us the same!
Wishing a happy stay
Issam Abaza (Lebanese)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Mr Issam Abaza,

Greeting from Golden Sun Palace Hotel, Hanoi.

A million thanks for the great sounding title " Home sweet home". We are delighted with your compliments of our staffs, hotel service on TripAdvisor site.

It has been a pleasure having you with your partner as our resident and we are glad to have provided you with a memorable experience as most beautiful room at Golden Sun Palace Hotel.

All in all, thank you for your generous feedback. We, the staff and customer care team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel are look forward to welcoming you to our residence again whether for leisure or business visits.

Your sincerely,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
" We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Service by Bruce and his team was very good as mentioned in other reviews; despite being a challenging group of 6 girls, we received the same wonderful treatment as other guests who reviewed here ie. early breakfast @6am to catch flight (plus take-away for those of us sleepy heads who couldn't finish our meal on time!) and careful storage of our luggage whilst we stayed overnight at Halong Bay. I was worried about a newly purchased painting that I forgot to point out to them to keep safe as well, but a call back to the hotel quickly reassured me that they have spotted it and it's in good hands.
There are plenty to commend on this hotel including the nicely appointed rooms (for what we paid), clean shower, fine hospitality and attention paid to details, such as Bruce inquiring when only 5 of us turn back up at night (one of us has already darted ahead to the lounge area).

Location is really convenient and we felt safe walking around the street late at night. Nothing to fault at all.( But maybe replacement of kettles will be good!)

Keep up the good work, team at Golden Sun Palace! We hope to be back again soon and will definitely not hesitate to recommend your hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Just4delanzi,

Greeting from Golden Sun Hotel, Hanoi.

On behalf hotel customer service management I would like to send a great thank for sharing your experience and tips on TripAdvior site.

We value each guest that checks in at Golden Sun Palace Hotel and we are glad that you value our service as well as the facilities, staffs, responsiveness in the hotel, especially you enjoyed our early breakfast service at 6:00AM. And I really appreciate you have mentioned our luggage store for keeping your newly purchased painting during you time in Halong Bay.

I am truly appreciated your comments will pass on to the all hotel staff, front desk, customer care team.

We, the staff and customer care team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel are look forward to welcoming you to our residence again whether for leisure or business visits.

Kind regards,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
"We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Travelling on a budget seems like a challenging thing to do and yet, we were quite fortunate to have found this place during our brief visit to Vietnam. The room rates were really affordable and it doesn’t compromise the quality and service of the hotel. They even provided every essential amenity such as the television and of course, WiFi internet access. Also, since I’m the type of person who gets really picky about the bathroom, I could say that they indeed provided a very clean and cozy bathroom. All in all, I could say that Golden Sun Palace has definitely made our trip more memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear KentMaureen87,
Greeting from Golden Sun Palace Hotel.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we are glad to have provided you with a memorable experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us - we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion and please do keep your good health!

Kind regards,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
"We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely new hotel right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Hanoi old town. Rooms are very clean and modern. We had rooms at the back of the hotel which lacked natural daylight (not a problem for us as we were not in the room much) but were extremely quiet. Breakfast was nice and the wifi good.

We only stayed one night at the hotel but the staff still went out of their way to assist us - particularly in planning our trips (Miss Poly) and in ensuring their bellboy took us to the station and put us on the right trains. We were welcomed back to the hotel inbetween our 2 trips with a room so that we could all have a shower and a complimentary breakfast. Overall they made this part of our holiday very easy for us and were a great help.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Edesia5,
Greeting from Golden Sun Palace Hotel, Hanoi.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay in our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, particularly in planning your trips with us and the bellhop took you to Hanoi Train Station with his effort to make sure you was not in a wrong compartment on the train. Additionally, it’s even more rewarding to hear from you that you will recommend to everyone to come with us.

All in all, thank you for your generous feedback. We, the hotel staffs and customer care team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel are looking forward to welcoming you to our residence again.

Kind Regards,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
" We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

i don't usually write reviews but i do believe that Golden Sun Palace deserves my recommendation and compliment. It is the second time i stayed with this boutique hotel chain, and all i could say is that anyone from developed countries who knows the business school rules by heart would be amazed (while ashamed) by how willing they are in walking an extra mile so to provide the best services possible. i like how i am known by name when i walk down the stairs every morning and greeted by every staff there, knowing that i will be taking which day tour that particular day and when would i be picked, and i like how the lady in the dining room knows that i would love my fruits to go with coffee the second morning onwards. its just all these small but surely not trivial things that made you feel that you are taken very well care of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Joanna W,

Greeting from Golden Sun Hotel, Hanoi.

Thank for sharing your experience and tips on TripAdvior site. It is always a joy to receive acknowledgment on our commitment to create memorable experience from our guests.

We value each guest that checks in at Golden Sun Palace Hotel and we are glad to greet and take care all of guests in Golden Sun Palace. We are truly appreciated your comments and you enjoy your breakfast in our restaurant daily with staffs and responsiveness .

Once again, Please accept our sincere appreciation for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back Golden Sun Palace Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
"We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Palace Hotel

Address: 33 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Sun Palace !The brand new Golden Sun Palace just opened on 30th Dec, 2012Hanoi’s newest boutique hotel combine’s modern architecture and features with traditional Vietnamesestyle in 29 well appointed rooms. Located in the heart of the Hanoi Old Quarter on historic Hang QuatStreet, it is a short walk to the Night Market Hoan Kiem Lake, the Water Puppet Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sun Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.