We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location close to everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Romance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Romance to your Saves list
Hanoi Romance
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Hang Bac, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Romance Boutique Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location close to everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hanoi romance for 2 nights after travelling up from Nha Trang. The hotel is basic but very clean and has a fantastic location right in the middle of all the action. The rooms are clean, have a safe,A/C, Free Wifi, a TV with English movie channels and the shower in the bathroom (301) was brand new and exactly what you need after a day walking round Hanoi! Breakfast is basic but good to get you started for the day.

When we checked in someone from reception came into our room by accident and went straight back out again. I called reception to see what was going on and they apologised saying they had gone to the wrong room and were sorry, no harm done.

We went to Halong Bay after Hanoi for 3 days and when we returned to Hanoi we realised thy we had some time to kill before going out to the airport. We wanted to do some last minute shopping but still had our bags, I chanced y luck and went to the hotel to see if they would keep them for a few hours and not only were they happy to oblige but also arranged for a car to take us to the airport!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I return to Hanoi, 3 star hotel with 5 star service. Also there is a fantastic roof top bar just around the corner at the Tyrant Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Director of Sales at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Kimdublin9,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Romance Management,
Firstly, thank you so much for your kind review and support our hotel,
We always wish to welcome and serve you again in the coming time,
Secondly, We would like to say Official Apology for our staff's mistake when coming your room by accident. We rechecked and re-investigated carefully and I am pretty sure that there will not repeat it any more.
Many thanks and best regards,
Hanoi Romance Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
44
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stay here as a couple from 2nd to 4th June 2013.The first night the room was rather small. The next 2 days the room was bigger.Johhny at the counter was very helpful in helping us to secure a local phone card and fixing the internet card into my phone.The hotel is located in a small side lane of the main Dinh Liet road in the Old Quarters.Travellers are to take note that the lanes in this area of the Old Qtrs are quite narrow and there are lots of motorbikes.Crossing the road is an issue for those used to orderly traffic, traffic lights and central road dividers. There are none here. You just have to be brave and walk slowly and confidently across whenever there is a slight gap and pray that the motorbikes will weaved around you.We did get lost the first night and have to ask our way back. Room was clean and 5 to 10 minutes walk to Hoan Kheam Lake and the puppet show.Breakfast was average. You will to be early as 0630 hrs though as there is less food later.Receptionists are friendly and do speak English.

Room Tip: We stay on the 2nd and 4th floor. No noise.Smallest room is quite cramp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Director of Sales at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jude2355,
Firstly, Greetings from Hanoi Romance Hotel Management,
Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback,
I believe that we learned a lot to improve our service better from your review,
And hope we would have chance to welcome you to our hotel again in the near future,
By the way, yes, many tourists said that the traffic in Hanoi is really crazy with many motorbikes. However, I think that It is a remarkable and interesting thing for tourism in Hanoi too,
Many thanks and kind regards,
Hanoi Romance Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is my first time been to Vietnam. I has a memories unforgettable journey in Vietnam.
I thoroughly enjoyed stay at Hanoi Romance Hotel. The hotel is gorgeous and the rooms are very charming, clean and extremely comfortable to stay. Staffs was amazing and super friendly, especially Mr.Johnny Quach. He helpful in introducing and guide the way to travel, saved me a lot of time asking around to special attractions and special foods distress.
I would recommend anyone visiting Vietnam to stay here! Fantastic! Awesome!
I'm very enjoyed Vietnam have a fun trip, i love Vietnam so much, thanks you so much Mr.Johnny

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Sales executive at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mr ReaganLeegan,
Warmest greetings from Ms Thuy - Hanoi Romance Hotel,
Firstly, It was great to get your feedback about our hotel,
Our pleasure to know it and I must say that your review encourage us so much,
Also, I am pretty sure there are many other places for you to travel when you come back Hanoi some day. And I do hope to see you again at Hanoi Romance soon,
Thank you very much and regards,
Thuy N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujisawa, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the many positive reviews and I am here to write yet another. Great location in the heart of the old quarter. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean. Free wifi plus a laptop in the room. Ice cold air conditioning. Comfortable bed, cable with several English channels, HOT shower, nicely stocked minibar with reasonable prices, excellent maid service and the coolest and kindest staff you will ever meet. The breakfast is worth waking up for! My sincere thanks to the beautiful people at the Romance for making my stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Director of Sales at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Taku H,
Greetings from Hanoi Romance Management,
Firstly, Thank you very much for kind reviews and support our hotel,
We always try to make better and better services and hope to have chance to welcome and serve you again soon,
Do look forward to meeting you and your family in the near future,
Thanks a lot and warmest regards,
Hanoi Romance Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A really nice hotel. Good value of money. Great location. It is close to everything and it only takes a small walk to get to Hoan Kiem Lake, Dong Xuan Night Market and other great attractions. Services were excellent and staffs were really friendly and helpful. Especially Ms Thuy - the sale executive, who took some of her time to show me around and took me to many great restaurants. Highly recommend Hanoi Romance Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side of the hotel are ideally for you if you prefer quiet areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Director of Sales at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mai N,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Romance Hotel Management,
Thank you so much for your review about our services,
We believe that our staff will have more motivation in providing better services for guest after this,
We so look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the coming time,
Kindest regards,
Hanoi Romance Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is great - in center of Hanoi old quarter. Just need to walk few minutes to other famous destination like Hoan Kiem lake, night market,... The rooms are very clean, charming, the staff is excellent, especially Ms Thu receptionist, Mr Van bellman. They are always willing to assist you anytime. The breakfast is also very nice. The pice is value of money. The next time you go to Hanoi, you must stay in this hotel. Indeed, I can't say enough good things about Hanoi Romance hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Director of Sales at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear DoraePhuong,
Greetings from Thuy - Hanoi Romance hotel,
Thank you so much for your all your kind feedback about our hotel,
I really appreciate your thought and I believe that it will help us to improve our services better for you and other guests in the future,
Do hope to welcome you again soon,
Many thanks and best regards,
Thuy Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooran queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip & at the end of our trip and both times was excellent...rooms very clean...staff very helpful...especially Johnny, Tsu, Phil & David...location great for old quarter area...handy to everything...we had a fantastic stay at the Hanoi romance hotel...breakfast was good as well.

Room Tip: All rooms were good for us...we had deluxe when we arrived..then superior...then upgraded to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi R, Sales executive at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Marcia60,
Warmest greetings from Thuy - sale executive of Hanoi Romance hotel,
Good to get your kind review about our hotel,
Thank you very much for your feedback. I believe that our services will be better after this,
And also, I do hope to welcome you again at Hanoi Romance Hotel in the near future,
Many thanks and best regards,
Thuy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Romance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Romance

Address: 19 Hang Bac, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Romance Boutique Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Romance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance Hotel in Hanoi is an exquisite merging between Western spirit and Hanoi culture. Strategically located right in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarters, few minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake and every other tourist site, this romantic boutique hotel is a perfect choice for both leisure and business customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Romance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Romance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.