We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Romance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Romance to your Saves list
Hanoi Romance
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Hang Bac, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Romance Boutique Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Laguna, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed two nights with 4 other family members. Hotel located in an "alley" in Old Quarters, but facilities are new, modern, quiet, and clean. No bugs in room or mold or mildew in bathrooms.
Breakfast buffet was really good - mix of Asian and Western choices - dining room was downstairs in the lobby. Staff may have limited English, but were all extremely friendly, helpful and nice. We had a smaller room but it was fine with us since we did not spend too much time in the hotel. We arranged our own transportation from airport and to Ha Long Bay, but found later out hotel could have helped us with this. Manager also recommended some good restaurants nearby. One night they helped us to order take out food and picked it up for us. If you are okay with staying in Old Quarters in Hanoi (crowded alleys and lots of traffic -cars, people and motorcycles during rush hour) , this hotel would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
44
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My family and I (mom / dad in their late 50's, brother and his GF, my husband and I) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. We checked out / in for 1 night in between to go on a Halong Bay cruise. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful throughout our stay. They helped us with a car bookings to / from the airport, were incredibly responsive on email prior to the trip, and were just incredibly kind and eager to help during our stay. The rooms were a bit small but hopefully you are not spending too much time in your room. When we rechecked in post cruise, one of our rooms was upgraded to an exec suite. It's much roomier so if you can spend the extra money, I highly recommend it. The breakfast buffet was also quite good - not the best I've seen but everything was really delicious. If you don't mind the hustle and bustle of the Old Quarter, this is a great option. It's tucked on a side street so you don't hear any noise. It's about a 30 min walk to the HCM's mausoleum.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roedovre, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is placed in a carm and quiet street, just 2 minutes walk from the lake 'Hoan Kiem' and therefore very comfortable.
If u are visiting Hanoi, and wanna see especially the old part of the city, but also if u wanna stay for a while, this staff will make u feel like u wanna come back here. And they will help with what ever they are capable of. So remember to visit this little paradise, if u come to Hanoi, and u will get a fantabolous service... We will never forget the service we had, and the kindness from the staff. And beside that, everything is clean, the internet is good, and the breakfast is good too.

Once again, thx to the staff for an outstanding service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First, let me thank Ms. Thuy whose insight & generosity made our trip fabulous. As a newly built & opened hotel, it provided us a home & more. It is in a middle of busy area but we were not bothered by the noise. Yes, the van/ vehicle does not squeeze directly in front of the hotel, but the hotel personnel greets & carries luggage to & from the main street. The room is very spacious & clean. The breakfast buffet offered the best of Hanoi and was delicious. Their very friendly staff especially Mr. Jhonny went out of their way to accommodate our request and even accompanied us for a tour & shopping! Thank you very much!
We booked our city & Halong Bay tour through the hotel (Ms. Thuy via email), paid upon arrival- it was reasonably prized, organized & as expected, tiring.
Great time to visit Hanoi, the weather (autumn) agreed. Lots of motorcycles, but surprisingly, no accidents. Just raise your hand & they will let you cross the street.
Overall, as stated, excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went there on end oct with my family members, booked 2 rooms for 3 nights directly through the hotel. I also booked my Halongbay 2D1N package from them with a reasonable price.
The rooms were spacious and clean, especially the suite room which they upgraded for me. all the staff were very friendly and helpfull. the hotel location is very convenience too, in the center of old quarter shopping area and night market.
i want to thank them for the flower and cake to celebrate my family member's birthday during our stay there. will definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked 2 rooms for my Hanoi's trip in Hanoi Romance Hotel from their website -> http://hanoiromancehotel.com ( what you see what you get ) Rooms are clean almost like 5 start hotel. All the staffs have a good attitude. Each of them communicate internally very well to deliver best service to customer.

Good location, located in center of old quarter. 5 minutes walk to Water puppet theather & Hoan Kiem Lake & 5 minutes walk to Hang Ngang & Hang Dao street ( Night market fr Friday to Sunday )

I booked the Halong Bay 2D1N trip & car + driver rental via hotel. Each of them provide excellent service.

That's a mini market next to the Hotel, owner of the market have a good attitiude. Their goods sell even cheaper than other place. eg. Vietnam Coffee

My family members are satisfy the Hanoi Romance Hotel's service. I will highly recommend Hanoi Romance Hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi r, Director of Sales at Hanoi Romance, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi TanLing,
Great day to you,
It's Thuy from Hanoi Romance Hotel. How are you these days???
Thank you very much for your kind support our hotel. Your review really motivates me and our staffs in trying to provide better and better services for our hotel guests,
It's our pleasure to have chance to welcome and serve you and your family at our our in September. And much more happier when we can make you have a good vision about Hanoi, especially about Vietnamese people,
I do hope to see you again in the nearest future,
Many thanks, TanLing and Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Romance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Romance

Address: 19 Hang Bac, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Romance Boutique Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Romance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance Hotel in Hanoi is an exquisite merging between Western spirit and Hanoi culture. Strategically located right in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarters, few minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake and every other tourist site, this romantic boutique hotel is a perfect choice for both leisure and business customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Romance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Romance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.