We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Serene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Serene Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Serene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10c Yen Thai Str.., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free airport pick up!
Ranked #11 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

've stayed at 5 stars hotels to budget hotels and by far this place offers one of the BEST customer service anyone can get. The staff is super friendly, nice and laid back!

Here's what they offer if you stay here:
-Excellent communication via email, we booked our airport transportation, HaLong Cruise and hotel from the US.
-Leaving your luggage while you're away to Halong
-A bottle of wine and cake if you're on your honeymoon (by the way, this was a complete surprise)
-Places to eat at
-Rooms are very clean
-Exchanging American dollars to VND
-Bellboys going out on the streets to bargain fruit for you! =)
-Best of all, exceptional service!

Cons:
-It's in an alley, may be a little hard to find but while you walk thru to get to the hotel, you really learn about the culture, life selling produce, meat, motobikes zipping thru, etc.

Thanks to Alisa, Kathy and Emily, for our incredible 3 night stay! Kathy-Congrats on your wedding!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    76
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
124
461
70
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Absolutely unjustifiable if i do not leave a review for this lovely hotel. Room was chic and modern. I would not say that this is the best hotel room i ever had but it is definitely the best service hotel i ever had. Hotel's staff were superb attentive and accomodating.

1. It was my friend's birthday and they have decorated our rooms with flower petals, cake and 2 bottles of red wine were given to us on complimentary.

2. They have specially arranged a room for free in their sister hotel for a 2-3hrs break when we are back from Halong Bay while waiting for our night train to Sapa.

3. We were leaving Hanoi at 6.00am in the morning and their breakfast starts at 6.30am but Emily offered to prepare breakfast for us to takeaway while on the way to the airport.

Special thanks to Emily and Tracy and all hotel's staff for making our stay so comfortable and we really feel like home. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were visiting south east Asia for the last month and this had to be the best hotel during our trip. Hotel was very beautiful, the staff and service are very pleasant and rooms were great. Really made us enjoyed Hanoi because of this hotel. We would go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The best advice I can give is to trust all the positive reviews that have already been written about Hanoi Serene Hotel! You won't regret making this your hotel choice in Hanoi. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone, and would definitely stay there again if I returned to Hanoi. A fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

An very exquisite and customer orientated hotel which feed to your every needs. It's smack down in the center of Old Quarter Walk and just beside street bustling with market activity in the morning. Would definitely put this in my places to visit again.
The concierge service at the hotel was tip top and attentive . Making sure they put a smile from the entire period of your stay.
Food was simple but most important for me was the location and accessibility to places of interest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very nice, small hotel located in the heart of Hanoi historic center. We came here day before my fiancé birthday and were met with cake, balloons and congratulations made with flower leaves on the bed. So sweet!! Also hotel presented to us and our friends bottles of local vine. We aren’t drink much so half of the bottle was enough for us (vine was quite strong:)) but personal touch and attention from the first minutes in the hotel raised our mood!! One more plus for us was that we received to rooms on the same floor so we have the whole floor only for us 4))
Historic center of Hanoi isn’t the very clean place…:) Especially after Singapore and Hong Kong it looks poor and dirty. But it has its own charm. Small narrow streets are full of innumerable quantity of shops and cafes with people sitting just on the sidewalks eating, chatting of just relaxing. Sometimes you even have to go by the roadway because all space on sidewalk is occupied by people.
So don’t be surprised that near the hotel you will find open food market during day time and will hear rooster shouting early morning But the hotel itself is the island of peace and comfort. Rooms are clean and have enough space. Building isn’t very new but everything works well. There are tea-coffee facilities in the room, free drinking water and fruits every day. Breakfast was very good!! It was limited by several options from menu but for us it was more than enough and all food was very tasty! Staff is very friendly, helpful and attentive. We felt very welcoming guests there during our stay.
I highly recommend this hotel for those who like small hotels, warm hospitality and want to feel themselves like at home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family of 4 adults stayed at the Serene Hotel in April 2013. We were surprised when our bus stopped at the end of a laneway and our driver told us he couldn't go any further but we were met by Tracy and co who took our bags a short way down the laneway to the hotel. Checkin was easy and we were given a welcoming cool fruit juice. The rooms are clean and tidy and very comfortable, and the fresh fruit each day was a nice touch. Breakfast is a la carte and because we had an early checkout on our last morning the staff even offered to pack us breakfast boxes to take with us. The hotel has a tour desk through which we booked a day tour to Halong Bay and they made suggestions as to where to eat and places to visit. As we stayed 4 nights our airport pickup was complimentary and we only had to pay for the trip back to the airport. All the staff, particularly Tracy and Alisa, were very friendly and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. We would recommend this hotel and have told the staff that if we return to Hanoi we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serene Hotel

Address: 10c Yen Thai Str.., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Serene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Hotel is the best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Hanoi Serene Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Serene Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL,Computer in room , cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hanoi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Serene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.