We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old quarter gem of a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rising Dragon Legend Hotel to your Saves list
Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   55 Hang Be Street, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 450 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Old quarter gem of a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Delightfully located in the old quarter, the Rising Dragon Legend hotel is a gem to stay in. Bear in mind, that there is a similar named hotel just a step or two away so get your hotel name right. Shopping, dining and sightseeing are just a step away from the hotel. The staff especially Diep front desk customer service personnel was helpful and friendly - giving us advice on food, places to see and which cabs were safe to take. Rooms are clean: you get a flat screen tv, complimentary water, air conditioning and fair in size. Bed are comfy and on the plus side, coffee and tea is served during the day time. Would recommend to anyone planning to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Legend Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Speis75,
Thank you so much for choosing Rising Dragon Legend hotel for your recent visit to Hanoi and taking your time to share your experience.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and our concierge team was able to give you effective sight-seeing tips.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kindly regards,
Rising Dragon Legend hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    44
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
83
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My experience is much like the prior review. The hotel itself is a bit old on a very busy street, but it was clean, safe, central and comfortable. But tge service was outstanding! what amazing lovely helpful people. They took amaxing care of me from booking taxis, excursions (with competitive prices), my stuff was safe there (as I), they all knew my name, all so so friendly. I even got a packed breakfast when I checked out at 6:30 am to catch a flight home! Top scores!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I booked my hotel just a week before my trip via email and David Trung (managing director) responded promptly and also planned my trip and stays precisely. The staffs were really friendly and helpful. They helped us with all sorts of our requests throughout the stays albeit some of us were quite demanding at times. Rooms are very new, hotel siting in a prime location in the Old Quarters and just 3 minutes walk from Hoan Kiem lake. David gave us a good rate on the room as well, and one of our room get free upgraded to a family suite with three beds, that saved us from having to book another room. Most of the staffs speak fluent english, they are also very helpful in giving us recommendations on where to eat and places to go.

We took the Deluxe Halong bay tour and it definitely worth the price we paid ! The cruise looks new and posh, foods are excellent and cabin is clean and comfortable. We had so much activities throughout the Halong Bay trip such as cave visiting, kayaking, ti top island visiting, cooking class, and a whole night on squid fishing and we really caught a few of them !

David and staffs have done a great job in providing a comfortable stay and the least worry trip for me and my family. Everything was so well taken care of and planned, even the private trip to the golf course requested by my cousin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Legend Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Voonchean,

I am truly grateful for your feedback and thankful for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Rising Dragon Legend hotel. We have been trying to fulfill our guests' expectation and so happy as we did achieve our aim.

Your kind words will be pass on all staff in our team, particularly David as an encouragement to keep on providing high standard of service.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Hanoi.

Kindly regards,
Rising Dragon Legend hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel while in Hanoi in March 2013 and can recommend it as an excellent place to stay in a great location with ultra-friendly and helpful staff. I paid US$30 for my room as a single traveller, which had an en suite, large television, air conditioning, room fridge, room kettle, complimentary water and the best quality cotton bed linen I have ever come across.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Legend Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

I am truly delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with Rising Dragon Legend hotel. As the guests' satisfaction is always our utmost desire, it is so rewarding that our team has done good job.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Hanoi.

Kindly regards,
Rising Dragon Legend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I already booked an airport pick up days before we arrived. Unfortunately, our flight got so delayed but the driver waited till we arrived at 2am. It took almost an hour to reach our hotel, he was a good and careful driver. Driving at an average speed of 40-50km on the streets with no cars or motorcycles at that time. The hotel was locked and i thought at first that we will be sleeping elsewhere. Good thing, the receptionist woke up and opened the main door for us. Ushered us to our rooms. The room was small but very clean. It was not a connecting room as i expected and suggested. Bathroom with tub - small and without any closure, water leaking out . Not for tall people for you will feel really cramped. Noise from the kitchen can be heard at 6am since we were on the 2nd floor but its ok since we are early risers. Bed and pillows - very comfortable, firm bed with clean white sheets, fluffy soft pillows. Safe - movable not screwed to the cabinet :(. Toiletries - very basic sometimes were not replenished. Theres a hair dryer in the drawer of the vanity desk. Hangers and extra duvet in the closet as well as slippers for two. Wifi - very fast. Password written on a piece of paper pasted on the vanity desk. Fridge - well stacked with drinks. Complimentary bottled water available but sometimes the housekeeping forgets to replenish. Breakfast is limited to the same fruits, bread, pho, and eggs (cooked either as scrambled or omelet). The service was exceptional with friendly people just willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We will surely be back!

Room Tip: choose rooms on higher floors. Dont worry, there's an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Legend Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Asensiblechic,

It is a great pleasure to welcoming you at Rising Dragon Legend hotel. I am truly happy that we were able to accommodate you an enjoyable stay with reference to the hotel facilities, pick up service, breakfast and our staff.

Thank you so much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you at Rising Dragon Legend hotel.

Kindly regards,
Rising Dragon Legend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my two children and we felt at home there. They let us stay in a room after a tour and before the next one because our children weren't feeling well. They booked out tours at a good rate, so we didn't have to give our credit card # all over town. They made our breakfast short order every day. Lovely experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this property, at room 702. Love this hotel and its staff! For the price paid, it was a very comfortable stay, would not hesitate to stay again the next time.

The hotel is new, started operation in May last year. Room is small, good for one person, a little tight for two, but the room is very well designed eg position of the plugs, unlike other hotels where you have to reach it at awkward places, design of the bathroom, small yet room to move around. The sliding door ensures that it does not get in the way of the wash basin nor the toilet bowl. The only amusing thing is the rain shower head is sited at such a low position that it scraps my head, and I am only 1.63m tall. Hot water is aplenty and water pressure is very good even at the 7th floor.

The lift serves up to the 6th floor, and there is a flight of stairs to catch to go up to the top floor. Not a big problem as the hotel staff will gladly bring your luggage up and down.

Decided last minute to take a day trip to Hoa Lu and Tam Coc and booked with the hotel at USD30. It was a fantastic trip! Later, I realised that one of our trip mates paid USD38 direct to the agency which organised it.

It is very well located, many street vendors just outside the hotel. It only takes 2 minutes to reach Hoan Kiem lake, and 1 minute to the water puppet show.

I only paid USD30 a night for the stay here, the cheapest so far in all my stays in Hanoi, and its one of those that I will not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rising Dragon Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Address: 55 Hang Be Street, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 450 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Legend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi, ancient Hang Be street still keeps the beauty of an old Hanoi’s culture and image , on which Rising Dragon Legend Hotel with over 25 spacious rooms in Western-style design is appeared as an elegant and luxury pearl beautifying the charming of the street. Furthermore, the pattern are carved precisely on natural wooden furniture in accordance with refined curtains and pure silky bed linen will make you easily fall into sweet and peaceful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rising Dragon Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Dragon Legend Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.