We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Authentic Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Authentic Hanoi Hotel to your Saves list
Authentic Hanoi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Ly Thai To Street, Hoan Kiem District | Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Kempsey, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel as part of a trip around Vietnam. It has a great location , good rooms and most importantly wonderful staff. I had a bout of "Bali Belly" while staying at this hotel. The hotel quickly organised a doctor , then an ambulance and quickly had me at the French private hospital where I was treated. The night porter travelled with me in the ambulance and when I later returned the hotel was very generous with providing a room for that night at no charge. I have never had such a supportive hotel staff in any hotel in my many travels around the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticHanoi, Public Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your good review to Authentic Hanoi Hotel.
We are very happy to read it and will send to our staff to encourage them.
Actually we have been trained by the professionals to meet up with any bad situations happening for the sudden time. It is our duty to make all our clients trust to stay at Authentic Hanoi Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
29
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A really good stay - rooms are clean and spacious. Good breakfast. Staff were even willing to attempt making the eggs the way my husband likes - very accommodating. Thank you!

I would suggest that you get a map from a street vendor as they print out a Google Map for use by visitors, but other than that a good stay!

Room Tip: Sleepin in the middle of the hotel to avoid the usual Hanoi wake-up call (announcements at 7:30am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was a great choice, the room was nice with a balcony n very clean and professional staff.....
It was near the central hoan kiem lake and water puppet show and very near to the local old quarters market.
The thing we were looking was food so just next door was a 20years old Indian restaurant, which was great.
The hotel was making their restaurant on 12the floor with a better view.....
Room were bigger and spacious and fruits basket was complimentory, enjoying thing was small bottle of water bottle, if someone is paying you so much at least give her 1lt water bottle not just 500ml.
I don't see what they can save by the water cost.
Overall a good place, better buy from outside market which is just 20meters away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

£70 per night for Junior Suite on 8th floor with view over the city and lake. Nicely decorated though a little bland but very clean, good service, great location, walking distance to Opera House, Lake etc. Very very comfortable beds!
All in all great value for money only gripe is that the admin function failed resulting in no airport pick up being dispatched and us having to source airport taxi which turned out significantly less expensive than the $25 the hotel wanted.
Oh and its a city centre Hotel so you will need your ear plugs, double glazing is not a perfect fit!

Room Tip: Higher you go the less of the traffic you will hear :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticHanoi, Public Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for spending your time to review Authentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel.
We are are very happy to read the best words from you.
Relating to airport pick up service, we are really sorry for the mistake. We will pay attention to that.
The airport transfer's fee is different. You can see many types of taxi and the differences based on the quality.
Authentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel offer the best car with the best driver to welcome you from the arrival gate directly to our hotel.
Thank you very much for stay with Authentic.
We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.
Best regards
Luan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel was arranged for the four of us by our travel agent, Asia Top Travel, in Hanoi. Reasonably priced at $55.00 (CDN) per night included a breakfast buffet each morning. The room was comfortable, clean and very contemporary (I believe the hotel is only a few years old). The staff of the hotel are very proficient in customer service. This boutique hotel is a quiet, safe refuge on a busy street in the heart of the city. If you are going to Hanoi, this hotel will not disappoint.

Room Tip: All good from our experience (203 and 303 were more spacious than 703 and 704). No sitting area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for spending your time to review Authentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel.
We are really happy to read your best review. We will deliver your review to all the staff to encourage them to work better and better.
Because of your travel agent, so you could not enjoy the Lake View rooms and City View. They are spacier and more comfortable.
We have just completed Authentic Panorama Restaurant on the 10th floor from which you can see the Sword Returned Lake( Hoan Kiem Lake). It's very nice.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Luan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was pleasently surprised by the level of service, friendlines of the staff and the modern equipment. The hotel is new and it show in the interior and the staff attitude.
There is no gym or swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Walked in off the street to book this hotel,so glad we did.The location is only 200 mts to the old quarter ,and 200 mts to the lake and Puppet Show.The staff were fantastic very professional and spoke very good english.The hotel is rated 3 star but should be 4 star, the rooms were very clean and modern.We had a great room that faced the street,excellent for watching the people going about their lives.The buffet breakfast was very good with daily variables.The staff were very friendly and engaged us in many conversations regarding our lives and country origins, which we really enjoyed.There is a large supermarket 50mts away which has every thing.The hotel organized a taxi for us to go to the airport which was about 18 dollars,very reasonable.Go outside for your laundry needs ,as the hotel is expensive.Overall a pleasant stay and can not find a solid reason not to go back.Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Room that faces the street was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Authentic Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authentic Hanoi Hotel

Address: 13 Ly Thai To Street, Hoan Kiem District | Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Authentic Hanoi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmly greetings from Authentic Hanoi Boutique HotelAuthentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel is conveniently located at the edge of Hanoi's Old Quarter. The hotel was named from the great King in history of Vietnam – Ly Thai To King, in the heart of the capital Hanoi thousand years of civilization and the ancient turtle tower, adjacent to the tourist attractions, Embassies, the vital organs of government, and commercial center The front of the hotel is opposite to Hoan Kiem Lake. The back of the hotel is opposite to Red River. You can visit Night Market at the weekend, visit this shopping area and Water puppet show...With 71 boutique rooms, 02 meeting rooms and 02 restaurants, Authentic promises to offer the best services to the customers.Besides, Authentic Hanoi Hotel also offers the tours packages visiting Vietnam. So we can support us to have a wonderful trip to Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Authentic Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authentic Hanoi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.