We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great color and cut in Hanoi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Quarter

Old Quarter
Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Old Quarter like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including...
Ranked #1 of 185 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hanoi’s lively Old Quarter comprises nearly 40 streets packed with shops selling all kinds of goods, each street named for its primary good or service.
Mombasa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great color and cut in Hanoi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I arrived in Hanoi with a horrible head of hair. Based on various posts, I chose Lan Salon situated in the Sofitel Plaza in Hanoi Vietnam. It was Sunday at 3 pm and he booked me at 3:40 pm. We discussed my color and he replicated perfectly. I showed him a photo of the cut I like and he also replicated it flawlessly. Mr. Lan speaks English very well and, importantly, understands neurotic hair details! I travel all the time and have two hairdressers who I love in Zimbabwe and Italy. Mr. Lan is right up there with them! Go ahead and get your hair needs taken care of here in total confidence. Lan's team of gals will take care of you (they will eg. give you tea, pedicure, magazines and make you laugh). It's a great place, not at all posh, but perfectly suited to any global travelers needs!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,660
    2,529
    578
    111
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“You'll Love it or Hate it - what do you like ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent almost 2 weeks here and still did't see it all.

This is old style Hanoi with buildings going back 400 years. it is rapidly being modernised into boutique hotels, shops and trip offices. You see life happening on the streets 24 hours a day with places changing in front of your eyes and street vendors and food stops appearing and disappearing as the tide of humanity flows through the streets. Cars, taxis, scooters and pedestrians share the road and often the pavements in a never stopping flow.

You will love this or hate it. Either way catch it before it disappears.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Take a map and give yourself plenty of time so when you get lost you dont panic!! This is the real Vietnam - noisy, colourful, messy, etc etc - we visited many times- bartered for stuff and went to the night market ( Fri,Sat and Sun only) - there are plenty of bars, restaurants and street food too

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stay in the old quarter or miss the fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Colour, night life and full on motor scooter bedlam, but great fun. Be prepared to re-learn pedestrian road crossing skills. Best place to haggle for souvenirs and food great. Go see water puppets and make sure you sit in the front row.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely old quarter but hectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great little place narrow streets very crowed. All the streets are named for what they have in them like hand bag street are all handbags etc. this is the old quarter . Traffic is a bit hectic . There are markets at night on the weekend

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.