We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Chi Minh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
Enter at corner of Hung Vuong and Le Hong Phong Sts. | Ba Dinh Square, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including...
Ranked #18 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Every year many thousands of respectful citizens and tourists visit the final resting place of the country’s most notable historic figure.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ho Chi Minh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were there during one of their public holidays so the place was opened to the public for free. But there was a huge crowd, so we had to stand in line for a long time just to enter. Then we were ushered out in less than 2 minutes. Therefore, try not to visit during public holidays. The garden and the square around it were impressive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    1,037
    639
    107
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Seeing Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went to see Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and found it a fantastic experience! It was good to see the preserved/embalmed Ho Chi Minh but was also impressed to see so many Vietnamese people visiting the Mausoleum and how much they respect Ho Chi Minh. The whole complex including the museum and his house was very impressive and well done. Very glad I went to see it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

How interesting! If you are interested in the history of Vietnam this is a must. Procedure to enter the mausoleum is formal and respectful and well worth waiting for. Interesting!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
822 reviews 822 reviews
429 attraction reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
1,108 helpful votes 1,108 helpful votes
“Cold Austere Architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum is a large memorial of Ho Chi Minh. It was open in 1975 and it is built in the spirit of the Lenin's Mausoleum in Moscow. We were able only to see it from the outside. Our guide stated the Ho Chi Minh was away for maintanance which is periodically scheduled. We watched the change of guard in front of the Mausoleum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must see in Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

You can't understand Vietnam without understanding something of Ho Chi Minh. The Mausoleum is an absolute highlight of Hanoi. Be prepared for a long queue, or your guide may be able to get you in quicker. It is well worth it. The experience is both eeirie and respectful at the same time and the whole building and area in front is very impressive. Don't miss this!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.