We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grey day, grey building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
Enter at corner of Hung Vuong and Le Hong Phong Sts. | Ba Dinh Square, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including...
Ranked #19 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Every year many thousands of respectful citizens and tourists visit the final resting place of the country’s most notable historic figure.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“grey day, grey building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Mausoleum was closed so we just did an outside visit. I guess it's on the MUST DO list but a driveby would have sufficed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    1,054
    648
    109
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dead boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Want on a rainy day.. frogmarched along designated pathway to the Concrete bunker... shame Uncle Ho wanted to be cremated but now waxed up in his coffin. At least lenin is near St Basils

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A typical Mausoleum, bombastic and cold.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I quite enjoyed watching the guards goose-stepping to and fro. The gloomy rectangular, pillared building is supposed to remind you of a lotus flower. It doesn't. It is not what Ho Chi Minh wanted, at all!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ho, Ho, Ho Chi Minh: 43 years dead and still lying in state.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was the quintessential communist experience: get in line, single file, no cameras, no phones, no talking, no hands in pockets, look straight ahead, and walk by the waxen corpse of a revered leader. The irony of all this is that Ho Chi Minh wanted to be cremated but the Politburo thought better of it. They decided that Uncle Ho could be better put to use as the well-preserved perpetual symbol of unification of the North and the South.
This visit included a walk by the beautiful French state house that HoChi Minh rejected and a peak at the 3-room traditional Vietnamese house on stilts that he preferred.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must see !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Slightly macabre - but probably a "must" for visitors to Hanoi. Enjoyed the trip around the grounds and our guides explanations more.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.