We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
Enter at corner of Hung Vuong and Le Hong Phong Sts. | Ba Dinh Square, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #22 of 95 attractions in Hanoi
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Every year many thousands of respectful citizens and tourists visit the final resting place of the country’s most notable historic figure.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
275 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

To observe the respect bestowed union this man and to see the massive mausoleum is an experience not to be missed. Security is tight with restrictions on cameras and phones, but it is worth the small inconvenience for the experience. We saw the mausoleum as part of a day tour with Sinhcafe, (the original one - there are frauds around!). We did not have to wait long and the queue moved quickly. It was worth the short wait. We would highly recommend Sinhcafe tours for price and quality of tours. We booked when we reached Hue at their tour office.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    932
    557
    90
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“watch out for Oct and Nov each year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Unfortunately during our visit 'Uncle Ho' was in Russia having his annual makeover. Worth noting that this occurs every october/november and hence the Mausoleum is closed during those times. However we have been to Hanoi at other times and certainly a visit to the Mausoleum is most worth while, if only to observe the deep reverence still paid by the people (both young and old) to this extraordinary man

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Was closed, but still worth going to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We came in October, so we couldn't go into the mausoleum, since Ho Chi Minh was away. However, it is definitely worth coming to see this impressive building, the guards, and to visit the Ho Chi Minh museum nearby.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Is it or isn't it?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Is it really him? In low light and with all cameras and mobile phones banned it's hard to say. The day I went I queued for an hour in a line that snaked around half of Ha Noi and I jostled jovially with Vietnamese as I left my phone with the cloak room (don't even think of taking anything electronic in there). The whole day was a cultural experience in itself. Look out for the angry guards in white if you a linger a little too long in front of Bac Ho (Uncle Ho).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Morbidly awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit here, but due to time constraints, we didn't get to the museum. We lined up for at least an hour to get into the mausoleum, but it was well worth it. We also enjoyed the beautifully landscaped grounds and the residences. Very interesting and well worth the visit. We will come back here on our next trip to Vietnam. Be sure you adhere to the opening times as we saw many people turned away if they arrived too close to closing time. Also, you need to ensure shoulders are covered and clothing is not too revealing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum to your Saves list