We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend a couple of hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)

Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)
66 Nguyen Thai Hoc St, Hanoi, Vietnam
(84.4) 37332131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was opened in 1966. Though in need of updating, some interesting artifacts are on display in its three floors organized chronologically.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

An old French chateau style building holding a range of old and modern art.

Some of the 2,000 year old bronze axes and tools are intricately carved and make fascinating exhibits. We saw strong Indian and Viking reflections in some of the stone carvings. The modern pictures were more disappointing but provided an interesting contrast to the older and more detailed works.

It's opposite the Temple of Literature so combining this museum with the TOL gardens makes a good trip. The gift shop has some nice if pricy items.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    154
    48
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Prepare to Spend a Couple Hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This museum is deceptively large. There is limited variety of art in Vietnam compared to what we might be accustomed to from the West. What is here is worth the visit, however. You will see the history of Vietnam expressed in art. The museum was much larger than I expected, so prepare to spend a couple of leisure hours wandering through the many floors and sections.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is just across the road from the Temple of Literature, and a lovely old building, so we went in to see what was on offer. It gives a good insight into the various art forms in Vietnamese history, but we especially liked the paintings, which reflect the turbulent history of the country but in a beautiful and creative way. A very worthwhile visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
2 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I want to see more big paintings and sculpture, but I love some of the paintings, Please ask for the direction before going there, we get lost when we get there since they don't have big signs on the outside

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

saw some amazing art and really appreciated the culture of Vietnam. The place is extremely well run and the staff most helpful. A must for when we comeback

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat) also viewed

 

Been to Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.