We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)

Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)
66 Nguyen Thai Hoc St, Hanoi, Vietnam
(84.4) 37332131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 185 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was opened in 1966. Though in need of updating, some interesting artifacts are on display in its three floors organized chronologically.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A fine tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Museum contains many works of art spanning the history of Vietnam. I was unaware of the great tradition of Vietnamese art until i visited this Museum and the fine arts museum in Ho Chi Minh City. Particularly beautiful are the lacquer on wood paintings. There is also a great collection of sculptures and ceramics.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    174
    57
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent view of Vietnamese art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Although many of the older paintings in this museum are badly in need of restoration, the contemporary work is really terrific. Skip the dreadful social realism rooms, but don't miss the decorative arts wing. The building itself is a fine example of French colonial architecture.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Truely something to experience if you are interested in art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Experiencing the history and seeing how the Vietnamese artists project their history and culture in their art work was a real enriching experience. Never have I visited an art museum where the culture and history of a nation is projected and reflected in their visual art as at this place. A truely enriching experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“broad collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

we enjoyed the layout of this gallery- 2 buildings, 1 with ancient vietnamese ceramics and the other with more contemporary art. It was interesting seeing the development of artistic styles. The "American" war is heavily featured and very thought provoking.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice to see some old stuff but not really worth a visit. Thr museum is very old and old fashioned. I did see things i have seen in ethnic, war or other musea as well

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat) also viewed

 

Been to Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.