We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly, helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Win Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Win Hotel to your Saves list
Win Hotel
34 Hang Hanh St | Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly, helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Don't be swayed by the small, somewhat dingy lobby. The rooms are roomy, clean, and comfortable. We found the ones on the street side a little noisy but nice and sunny while the ones in the back were more quiet but lacked sunlight. We opted for the sun and ear plugs when necessary. We found the city quite noisy but enjoyed this old section near the lake.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
43
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The REAL Kangaroo Cafe recommended this hotel to us over the phone when we called them from China. With no hesitation, they said "Win Hotel", just around the corner. It is... just around the corner :) The hotel organised our taxi from (& back to) the airport, carried our bags into the hotel, and into our room (and back down again when we left). Can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Right smack in the middle of everything, without the noise. One street from the lake, the Kangaroo Cafe, the ANZ bank (for currency exchange), the BIG round-a-bout, and about a million shops (clothes, sunnies, shoes, toys, FOOD, BEER, and just about everything else you want to buy). So handy to nick back to drop off shopping or have quick pit stops during the day. Stacks of places to eat in both directions. Hotel staff are super efficient without being over the top. Helpful about everything we needed. Small hotel with great rooms (we stayed 3 times, in 2 different rooms), both HUGE and clean and comfy, and both overlooking the street which is really neat because you can watch the world go by without all the noise. Tiny cute balconies with dusty (but nice) qumquat trees in big pots. Very private. Happily stored our suitcases safely for our 2 separate trips to Halong Bay & Hoi An. Organised all taxies to & from Hanoi airport each time. Called the tour company for us to make sure our (Halong Bay) bus really was picking us up. Offered for us to pay just the one hotel bill when we finally left, rather than charging us for each stay (couple of nights each time), which we really appreciated, as they saved us plenty in bank charges (which is one reason they offered for us to do it that way). Great brekky every day.... they even went out & hunted down soy milk for my cuppa! Safe, clean, handy, air-con, fans & beer (& water) stocked fridges, plus wi-fi in the room (& in the foyer), friendly & all in all, an absolute bargain. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Very happy customers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were very happy with our stay at the Win Hotel in Hanoi. We loved the location from which we could step out into one of those lovely old town streets and just walk. The staff was fantastic and made us feel like home, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the price reasonable. The hotel is a little old and not perfect, but we prefer that over a modern, sterile place. The beds were firm, which we like. Breakfast is minimal, but sufficient (Vietnamese coffee and Pho always works for me), but there were eggs, bread, jam, and fruit. We would definitely stay at the Win Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010 via mobile

Not fully prepared for the chaos that is the old quarter so was glad that this hotel is in a quiet side street with relatively little noise.

Staff were helpful and friendly but not obsequeous. No attempt made at any stage to sell us trips. Looked after our bags while we went to Sa Pa for 3 nights and put us back in our old room on our return. Offered us showers after we'd checked out and been out for the day - without us asking. Also didn't look for payment till very end of our 2 stays.

Nothing remarkable about the rooms. Not the newest and definitely not the most stylish but that's about right for this part of town. Clean and spacious and the air con worked

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Coast New South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We recently stayed at the Win Hotel in the Old City of Hanoi. We were recommended by the Kangaroo Cafe, and could not fault it. For starters, they arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and this went off without a hitch. We were then shown to a beautiful room at the front of the hotel with a double bed and 2 singles. We had a great small balcony from which we could look out over the character filled street. The Win Hotel is on a very quiet street by Hanoi standards, and is within a 1-2 minute walk from the lake and the rest of the Old City. It is also surrounded by bars and restaurants. What's more, the place is run by a very friendly family, and the younger family members speak excellent English. The Win Hotel was also extremely clean. They held our luggage for us during our Halong Bay tour as well. All in all, a wonderful cheap hotel in the heart of the crazy old city of Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed at the Win Hotel around New Years 2009 and again for 4 nights earlier this month. This hotel is on a short, dog-leg street (Hong Hanh) near the northwest corner of the prominent Hoan Kiem lake. That makes it easy to get oriented and find the hotel at the end of the day. Hong Hanh is busy but not too much so and lots of restaurants and shops handy. For both stays I was able to make reservations via email to [--] and the manager Nghia also arranged for a taxi to pick me up at Noi Ba airport.

It is a modest, walk-up tourist hotel but rooms are good-sized and all of the bedding, bath/shower, TV and air-conditioning stuff worked great.

Nghia and his crew were great. As others have said, they are not pushy with respect to tours and other stuff but are always willing to help when you *do* need something. I am going to try to go back to Hanoi and environs next winter and would rebook at Win Hotel without any hesitation.

Note: As it happened I met a couple on the plane from Dien Bien Phu and offered to share my taxi into the city. They had no reservations and looked around for a bit but ultimately wound up staying at Win Hotel. They let me know that they were very happy.

Jim.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Quiet, big rooms, with high quality at a great price in an ideal "Old Quarter"location

Just 2 minute's walk from the north end of Hoan Kiem Lake, this is a quiet haven, centrally located Hanoi's "Old Quarter", with high quality at a great price. You'll find big rooms, solid walls, spacious bathrooms, soft blankets, and good lighting, along with beautiful antique furniture and design. Some rooms have lovely big balconies overlooking the small shopping street below, which is too narrow for high traffic so it's one of the quieter lanes. We wanted even more quiet, so we took a room without windows, and it's been one of our favorites of the entire trip. During our months in Southeast Asia, it's been rare to wake up on your own time without a chicken-crowing contest out your window, even in the cities. Nia at the front desk speaks great English and is very helpful, without trying to sell travel packages. Even though there's no elevator, they'll carry your luggage up, and they even stored it for us when we went to Sapa and Halong Bay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Win Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Win Hotel

Address: 34 Hang Hanh St | Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Win Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Win Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Win Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.