We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for only a nights stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Hanoi to your Saves list
Melia Hanoi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44B Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate & 20$/day gift!
Ranked #120 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good for only a nights stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were a group of 9 who stayed just for 1 night at this hotel. Though conveniently located, I would not recommend this hotel (for the price you pay). Its rooms and corridors need serious renovation (you feel you're living in the 80s!). We experienced a strange smell in the corridors and the service was not up to the mark.

Only thing nice about this hotel is the variety in the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to read that we haven’t really covered your expectations during your stay. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services.

Even I understand that so far you would not recommend our hotel, I do hope that you will reconsider it and give us another chance.


I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.



Best regards,


Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    338
    127
    35
    13
See reviews for
85
242
55
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Melia hotel where everyone kept their smiles everytime. The location of Melia hotel was amazing, just a thrown stone from Hoan Kiem Lake. Worth for value of two nights staying and Halong Bay trip(A Class Opera Cruise) that recommend by the desk mamager. Great .Enjoyed hotel !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.


Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc’h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great room, very good food, centrally located. In kind of harsh Hanoi, i didnt expect such comfort. The dinner we recieved was more than great! Apart from the self service buffet we were presented with big lobsters and a veriety of fried sea food. Great! Recommended in every respect!

Room Tip: There seemed to be no complaint on any of the rooms in our party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel services and facilities.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc’h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked two rooms and stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. My chief complaint is that the hotel management lacks integrity. When we booked our rooms on the internet, we received a coupon promotion from Melia for $20.00 off per night. The coupon directed us to present it upon check in. When we presented the coupon upon registration, the staff told us to present during check out. When we presented it at check out, the staff refused to honor the promotion. When I asked to speak with the manager who apparently was in the back room, he refused to speak with me and offered no accommodation. We subsequently wrote to corporate headquarters to advise them of the hotel's actions. It is a month later and still no reply. What a wonderful way to conduct business!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences suffered during your stay. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.


Our intention was absolutely not to refuse to honor the promotion we offered. I am also surprised that you didn’t receive any answer to the e-mail sent to our headquarters, since we commit to always answer within 48 hours. I would suggest you to re-send this e-mail to calidad@melia.com or to send it to me gm@meliahanoi.com.vn; I would follow-up and come back to you.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, I would be very pleased if you could contact us to clarify the situation.



Best regards,



Celine Guyomarc’h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff make you feel welcome. The rooms were decent and very comfortable. Restaurant was very well managed. You can eat local food to international . We went there during the holidays so it was festive. It was amusing once new year set in, the once reserved politburo crowd came to party while the locals stayed outside in the cold. No noise making the police will get you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.


Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc’h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel to stay in. Staff are very polite and speak quite good English. They are very helpful and nothing you ask for is a problem. The rooms are very nice and exceptionally clean. Room service is very good. Laundry expensive though. Breakfast very good and waiter service good. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. But would not recommend Hanoi.

Room Tip: Has nightclub ask for 6th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc’h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was a noisy Saturday night in Hanoi with the disco pounding till 2 am, and smoke streaming into our non smoking floor room throughout the entire stay. Not the room to get a good quiet night sleep after the turmoil of Hanoi's streets and sights.

There are a large number of hotels to choose from in the area - I would suggest a place that is more focused on offering a quiet night's rest rather than a hotel that is catering to a banquet and party theme. But if that's what you are looking for - this could be the place. The cars out front on this evening ranged from MB to Rolls and Bentley's. The hotel has a glamorous entrance and the restaraunt was excellent.

Crossing the streets of Hanoi is intimidating at best - and this area is busy. The local street life is exciting to watch - I felt safe in the area. Streets are uneven and cars and scooters are parked everywhere - sidewalks included. Walking the area could be tough for some - I think that could be said for all of Vietnam.

Room Tip: There were a number of non smoking floors - ours was at the bottom of that list. Perhaps higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences suffered during your stay. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.


We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.



Best regards,



Celine Guyomarc’h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Address: 44B Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#71 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.