We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff couldn't do enough to help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hanoi Opera to your Saves list
Hilton Hanoi Opera
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #119 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albury
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great staff couldn't do enough to help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel is very well appointed and very clean. The only issue that we had was that is a decent walk from the main markets and action in central Hanoi. Food is great and the buffet breakfast as everything that you could want

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    427
    152
    46
    17
See reviews for
138
380
88
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Really great service. Very clean and quiet hotel. Comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfast. Good if you are travelling alone sa very discreet and lots of public areas to sit and work.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I just got back from a short weekend vacation in Hanoi. We chose the Hanoi Hilton for its' location, and we weren't disappointed! This was our first stay at a Hilton property, and we were very please with everything. The rooms are what would be expected from a chain like a Marriott, Hyatt, Westin, etc. -- but I especially liked the TV cabinets, which were decorated in what I am assuming was Vietnamese art. The rooms had Crabtree and Evelyn products, which were a nice touch. Although the rooms were not modern, they did have a cultural feel which we liked. The hotel staff was cordial and helpful, and the breakfast buffet also had a lot of choices -- from local Vietnamese, Japanese, to western favorites. Live music was played every evening in the lobby/bar area which was very calming after a busy day out on the town. Hanoi is a great city to visit, and I would definitely recommend staying at the Hanoi Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I had visited Hanoi befre and stazed inthe Horiyon hotel. My stay in Hilton was pretty impressive compared to Horizon. The room were bigger, cleaner and the service was always with a smile. The communication was excellent becuase most of the staff could speak good English and that is always one criteria that I look for in the Far east.
Would recommend the hotel blindly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

The brass plaque in the lobby says the Hilton opened in 1999. I would have guessed 1988 from the decor. Brown faux marble bathrooms and late communist style brass lift trimmings set the tone. It's nice enough, though, with a convenient location beside the stunning 1911 Parisian style opera house and Dunhill store in the lobby (classy touch). Breakfast is not very inspirational with the staff clearly overworked and not a great selection. There is Wifi in the room, but the tv dated back to the opening and my third floor room had a very small window (but huge curtains which gave the impression it was much larger). The hotel livery taxi back to the airport was extortionate compared to city taxis at $20 on the meter (how did they manage to charge more for a hotel meter taxi than the airport taxi charged on the way there?). Good but certainly not great, and you could do a whole lot better in Hanoi, which is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was staying with 2 of my friends from 24th-27th July and i really enjoy my stay with Hilton.I actually arrive in the Hotel around 1030am and i was surprised that my room was ready and we were allowed to check in even though normally we are only supposed to be check in around 2pm.

The deco and furniture of the room are definitely out of date but yet the basic amenities are there and make us feel comfortable.

It is only 10-15 minutes walk to Hoa kiem Lake or the old quarters but if you are lazy to walk, there is Hanoi Taxi ready at the Hotel entrance to fetch you with fare around USD1.

The buffet was really nice, and i was amazed by the waitress which can remember what i drink without requesting her on the 2nd and 3rd day.

Overall i will recommend this hotel for future stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The Hanoi Hilton hotel has the word "opera" in its name, presumably because it is located next to the French-architecture elegant Hanoi Opera house, and also because its architecture mimics that of the Opera house.

It thus fits nicely into the overall architecture of Hanoi city, with its leafy boulevards and French colonial architecture. The interior is something of a letdown after the grand external appearance, so it could have been more elegantly furnished to match the style suggested by its external architecture.

As with other Hilton hotels, service is good, and the hotel is clean, well maintained and in line with what you'd expect of a 5-star hotel's standards. Rooms are large and roomy, if decorated in the style reminescent of an earlier period and without any particular theme.

Location wise, the Hanoi Hilton is quite good - within short walking distance of the charming old quarters and the central lake.

As a place to stay, it is good for business but for leisure, I would opt for more local digs to get the true flavour of Hanoi, unless you really cannot get by without the amenities of a 5-star hotel, charmless though it may be.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#30 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#53 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hanoi Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.