We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hanoi Opera to your Saves list
Hilton Hanoi Opera
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #117 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just returned after a fortnight stay at this hotel. It is 7 years since we last visited and found it as we remembered, although getting a little tired. Staff are polite and efficient and our favourite is the downstair bar, where we could snack, two things to mention, try the Mojitos and the spring rolls. The breakfast is a very large buffet, that caters for most ethnic tastes. It is central to the Old Quarter, we walked there and back and around the lake. The traffic is still nuts, there are now traffic lights, that everyone ignores and there are more cars. We travelled into the provinces and I highly recommend this, the temples are astonishing and the scenery is never boring, although where we went there were very few Europeans, everyone greeted us cheerily "Hello" It was winter average 17d C, but by Melbourne standards it was not cold. Downside motorbikes still are parked on the footpaths, street food vendors clutter the street, but that's how they earn a living,and the footpaths are full of holes and very uneven. Ha noi is very different to H.C.M.C. enjoy the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear DesertLoverVictoria,

Welcome “home” and thank you for taking a moment to share your experience subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

I am happy to hear that you found our Team members to be ‘polite and efficient’ with particular note to your bar experience. I am also delighted that you found our location to be a convenient access to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter.

DesertLoverVictoria, thank you for sharing your experience of travelling into the surrounding provinces and the insights.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    371
    129
    41
    17
See reviews for
116
331
79
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of a Titon Tour through Vietnam and Cambodia.

After almost 30 hours of travel we were delighted to arrive at a such a wonderful and welcoming hotel. From the moment to entered the main reception area you realised you where is an area of class and comfort.

We had a lovely room that was very spacious and quiet and had very comfortable beds and it is a good touch that a complimentary bottles of water are replaced daily. The staff throughout were all friendly and a credit to their training.

Breakfast in the lounge on the first mezzanine floor was an excellent buffet with an amazing range of food for all tastes.

The location is excellent, an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Hanoi, and reasonably central (difficult to define in Hanoi) and is located next to the opera and approx 15 minutes to the lake and Water Puppet Theatre (do not miss this).

The hotel has an internet cable in each room for a charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Pollardspark,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be an ideal place to stay after your long hours of travel.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Junior Suite room where our room had a great city view. The room was cozy, spacious and modern in detail.The location was extremely great, the Opera House located next to hotel and we had a easy walk to the show at night. Staffs were inviting and smiling when entering inside the hall, the manager and his staffs would recommend us great trip to the Bay of Halong for three nights om the boat of A Class Opera. The breakfast buffet was wisely many choice with Vietnamese, Chinese, Western,too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear ScSadVan,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Again, thank you for your compliments. We all strive hard to make sure all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Until the occasion permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in 2010 and knew that this had to be our hotel for this trip too.

We had a lovely room on the 6th floor (Executive) at the end of the corridor and it was very spacious and quiet and had very comfortable beds and pillows. The housekeeping staff were all friendly, in particular, Ha, who cleaned our room daily and constantly replaced our water supply. Having the Executive lounge to escape to provides a good place to work and to enjoy afternoon tea or the substantial evening hors d'oeuvres and drinks from 6-8.30. Last time we ate all but one breakfast in the lounge but this year we favoured the downstairs buffet, which offered more variety and wasn't crowded. In fact, the breakfast buffet was AMAZING and had a range of food for all tastes. My husband was particularly taken with the bread pudding, especially the one with raisins!

The location is excellent. Others have said it is not central but I would disagree because it depends on your definition of central! Located next to the opera, 5 min. walk to the lake and 10-15 to the top of the lake and Water Puppet Theatre, I think the Hilton is well situated to restaurants and shopping, while at the same time far enough away to have some peace and quiet from the wonderful chaos that is Hanoi.

A nice touch was that the GM, Mr Simson, was in the lobby the morning we checked out, greeting guests and asking about their stays. It is this kind of personalized service that makes a difference. We were genuinely sorry to leave what had been our home for 10 days.

The only negative I would say was the painfully slow internet connection, but that seems to be the case all over Vietnam.

Can't wait to go back! Thank you Mr Simson and your wonderful team of employees, including the housekeeping, check-in, dining room and executive lounge staff. You have some great people working at the Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to book an Executive Room, the benefits it offers are worth it. I don't think you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Katchapuri,

Thank you for your detailed and gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall experience while staying with us. The sentiment of that will be shared with all of our Team members and I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you “back home” as and when your travels bring you back in this direction.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
830 reviews 830 reviews
221 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was here 2 years ago for 2 nights, and again now for 2 nights. In 2011 I had written here that the hotel needs a makeover and better management of staff. Well, the service levels have improved, and staff now actually smile and exude a sense of warmth which is generally not seen in Vietnam. So clearly, something right has happened on the staff and service side. However, the rooms itself have not changed. The bathroom is in need of a makeover. This is Asia, yet there is no bidet or personal hygiene faucet. You are stuck with toilet paper for your backside. Also, the toilet is placed in a very awkward position bang next to the wall, not allowing one to sit comfortably at all. In fact this was one of the points I had mentioned in 2011. The shower stall is extremely tight amking it very difficult for a 6 footer like me to move around.

In 2011 I was a non elite member of HHonors. This tme I was a Diamond member, yet my room was identical to what I had last time. Of course, I had access to the Executive Lounge and other Diamond level privileges. Wifi in the room was very slow to the point that many sites could not open, including Hotmail. This is just not acceptable in this day and age. I complained, but there is nothing that can be done unless you spend and invest more on the necessary equipment and infrastructure.

Hanoi is a very shabby and chaotic city outside of a very small area around the Opera House. There is not much to see or do in Hanoi, except to use it as a springboard for Halong Bay. In that chaos, this Hilton seems like an oasis. But it is still resting on its past laurels. It needs to fast forward to 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Pradipd25,

Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor response after your recent visit.

I am delighted to hear that we have been making positive progress in improving our service standards compared with your prior experience in 2011. We will continue to strive hard to ensure all our guests are well taken care, respected and therefore endeavor to exceed the expectations of our guests as part of their stay experience in addition to enhancing our product and facilities.

Pradipd25, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Until the occasion permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was on business trip and stayed one night at the hotel.

Check-in was efficient. Front office staff polite and professional.
I was slightly disappointed upon entering the room....furniture looks dated and carpet gave an old and sad feeling. Strangely there was a King size bed and another single bed next to it. I am not sure if this was a permanent fixture or some other guest requested for it.

Other than the dated look and feel, everything else was functional. Aircon was quiet and water-jet in the shower was powerful. Both the room and the bathroom are considered larger than most other standard hotel rooms. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: You might want to ask the front desk upon checking in whether they can allocate newer rooms to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ken_sg,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am happy to read that you had a positive impression on our Front Desk Team members and found our guest rooms to be spacious and our bed is comfortable. On a separate note, I am pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program which includes the look, feel and layout of our guest rooms.

Ken_sg, once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed two nights and for me the location was perfect as all my meetings were within walking distance. The hotel is clean and well equipped but showing its age a bit. Having said that, it is most definitely an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast selection is extensive and the restaurant food is very good. The staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive. The gym is small but okay for a hotel facility. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Chelsea159,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Until opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#30 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#53 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hanoi Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.