We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What an amazing experience to stay in this wonderful hotel...exceptionally well trained and accommodating staff, beautiful buildings and setup, fantastic eateries and bars and within walking distance to so many local sights.
We stayed for 5 nights in June...I could easily have done 5 more. Stayed in a suite in the Opera Wing...smaller than some we have been in elsewhere but perfect in design and decor. Have to say the claw foot bath was without doubt the best bath I have ever used...and the water pressure and temperatures....the best.
The shower was also 5 notches up from most other hotels we have ever stayed in as far as water pressure and consistency of temperature...better than home even.
The bed...oh...heaven...Sofitel do great bedding and this was no exception...wonderfully sumptuous and comfy.
Suite gives access to Executive Lounge and the breakfast there was lovely...good selection and the Eggs Benedict were perfect. Also as a Australian it was comforting to find a big jar of Vegemite on the condiments table. Afternoon tea served some amazing delights and the evening cocktail happy hour was also well worth dropping in for.
We ate at several of the restaurants and bar areas...the Bamboo Bar was lovely for a quick or long lunch and the Bun Bo and Pho were a favourite. The Spices Restaurant is Vietmanese cuisine at its best and I regret we only got there once for dinner. The french restaurant outside was also fantastic and we spent a good few hours there one night enjoying the sights and sounds of Hanoi over good wine and food...a must do.
The spa and pool were great...had a session at the spa that left me wanting to come back the next day for more of the same. Probably the only downside was the sales pitch to buy products..not what I was there for. The pool was quite busy in the afternoons but early morning was fantastic...not many people and it just the right temp for the time of day.
Cannot put in words how fantastic the staff were...from the moment we entered til the moment we left they were so friendly and accommodating. English is spoken fluently by most, as well as French and a variety of Asian languages. The smiles are genuine and speaking to different staff member it was evident how proud they were to be working at the Metropole.
Situated in the French quarter there is so much to see just walking the streets and close to the Old quarter ...we spent most days just meandering around the streets.
The historic tour of the hotel is a must do for all ..and if time allows take a hour to see the sights of the old town in the vintage car...fantastic.
I will definitely be back ..loved it.

Room Tip: Suite was quiet and even opposite the elevator we had no noise issues...likewise from outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear mwanzamama,

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city.

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed your experience at our breakfast buffet as well as the MyBed concept.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you very much,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,879
    542
    151
    41
    20
See reviews for
626
1,791
188
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Luxurious and historic hotel. Everything done perfectly and with style. It was good to wander the 'history corridor', and the pool is a must for a cocktail.
I am very glad that I stayed there, but it is really not my scene - so it definitely gets a top rating, but next trip I am going to be looking for a cheaper and less luxurious place in the Old Town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Tjclleicester,

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A complete haven from the chaos outside. We were on the historical wing with a room and balcony facing the main street - the soundproofing was surprising good, we had no problems with the horns and street noise.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Asialand,

Thank you for an amazing review about your recent stay with us. Clearly you had a fantastic experience and appreciated our haven from the chaos outside. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here in June for three nights. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are lovely, friendly and helpful and the decor is refined and stylish. The breakfast was sumptuous with a variety of choices. This hotel is superb and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Louisehod,

I thank you for your praise regarding the high level of service provided by the whole team at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a "fantastic breakfast" as we proud ourselves in using only the freshiest products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Do not think about staying anywhere else. This is nirvana. The attention to detail is immaculate. Furnishings amazing. The staff are the best in the world. Big hotel but with initiate feel. Only
place to stay when in Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear you consider us as the only place to stay in Hanoi.

Our utmost reward is to read our guests satisfaction. The team and I are grateful to you for taking the time to drop some extremely positive words about your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

My Team and I look forward to your return visit to our property,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
294 hotel reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
2,707 helpful votes 2,707 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Sofitel is a absolutely gorgeous French colonial-style hotel with large green timber plantation shutters, white painted façade, original wrought iron balconies, wooden timber floors, wood panelling throughout & elegantly furnished depicting it's true unique heritage.

Location: The Sofitel Legend Metropole is located at 15 Ngo Quyen Street in the heart of Hanoi. Just minutes to the Opera House, Hoan Kiem Lake & Old Town.

Arrival: We were meant to be picked up from the airport but to no avail. We immediately rang the hotel & they said someone would be there in 10mins. Somehow; our transport booking wasn't noted via email. Regardless; we were dealt with efficiently & with real genuine concern.

Check in- was very courteous & friendly. We had originally booked a garden patio room but were given the option to upgrade to a premium deluxe room being Le Club Advantage plus Platinum members. Naturally; we upgraded but we still viewed our original room which looked very nice too.

Room - Our room 558 was large with a working desk, mini bar, king size bed, sofa, TV, with a massive separate bathroom with walk in shower & claw foot bath.

Breakfast - was included in our room rate which offered a wonderful selection of Western & Vietnamese cuisine.

Dinner - On our first night we decided to dine in-house to try the food. All the meals were delicious.

Facilities - We enjoyed using the swimming pool after a long day in the heat exploring Hanoi. The pool was a little warm but it certainly offered relief from the heat. Spa treatments, beautician were also available.

There is a tourist shop, wine shop, pastry & coffee shop all within the hotel.

Bars: We enjoyed having late night drinks after dinner in the bars. We particularly like the Club Bar with it's live Jazz nights. In the day between 3pm - 6pm it turns into a yummy chocolate buffet with every French patisseries available.

Club Lounge - Excellent with a good wine, beer & cocktail list.

Overall - We absolutely loved staying at the Sofitel it oozes with charm & character. The staff were very friendly & efficient. The location is ideal for walking & exploring Hanoi. The Legend is definitely the only place to stay in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Old part - garden patio room. New part - grand premium room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Ellemay,

Thank you for your detailed, very personal feedback.

I was extremely pleased to read the summary of your comment in such words of praise. We genuinely put a lot into exceeding our guests expectations and I am truly glad to hear that we have achieved our aim with you.

I take on board your comment about the limousine pick up at the airport and will have it followed up with our team. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for recommending us so well.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.