We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going home, only better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Like going home, only better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

After six years we are once again experiencing the beauty and grace of the Sofitel legend a Metropole , and it is truly legendary.
We are staying on the executive floor in a delightfully stylish and spacious suite, and we couldn't be happier . I'm sure there are grander and more spacious rooms,but with the executive lounge for a quiet tea and the famous Bamboo lounge for a g and t...what else is needed really?
Since our last visit they have created a brilliant glass conservatory, expanded the Bamboo Bar, which has given the whole hotel a brand new smile.
Our greatest joy has come from the discovery of the air raid shelters left from the American War. A joy because with the fabulous Mr Duc, we were taken back in time to a war torn Hanoi, and learnt about the Vietnamese fight for freedom. It is the highlight of my visit, executed with dignity and grace by a gentleman who holds no malice and taught me much. This is a magical hotel with a huge heart. Thank you.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the old wing, now staying in the Metropole wing is a contemporary delight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear journeywoman57,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such as enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad you consider Metropole as the magical hotel with a huge heart.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the hotel.
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,866
    539
    148
    41
    20
See reviews for
624
1,780
187
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Metropole is what we needed to recover from a long flight. The rooms were comfortable , large wigh nice bathrooms. It is nicely located in the center of town and we could visit the old city and Keim lake. We tried their Vietnamese resturant in the hotel and it was excellent. Can't recommend this more.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Steve M,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our guest room, service and location.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

stayed in their Club room (Opera Wing) and the room was fantastic with Hermes soaps n stuff. Funnily enough, there is no free Wifi throughout the hotel. Hotel is conveniently located - right between the old city and the rest of Hanoi. Rooms are average sized, bathroom all nice and marbly. U should arrange for a tour in the historic part of the hotel, its totally worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Marays,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.
We are very pleased to hear that the accommodation and location meet your expectation
We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the hotel.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel but we passed by while touring around the French quarter. So glad we stopped in because we noticed they had a Chocolate Buffet and High Tea in the afternoon and it was the BEST High Tea I've ever had! Amazing service and a huge selection of chocolate everything and high tea finger sandwiches including scones. It wasn't that expensive and worth every penny!!! Will come back for sure!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Happyvacay,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you for Chocolate Buffet and High Tea at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am happy that you enjoyed the amazing service and a huge selection of chocolate and high tea finger sandwiches including scones.

We look forward to your next visit to our place.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Just been once to Hanoi but this is the only hotel I would stay in. Good rooms, clean, new and refurnished. Good restaurant and an excellent bar overlooking the pool. The vietname restaurant is really tasty and original.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Ilovetotravelatout,

Thank you for recommending Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am delighted that your stay in Hanoi was an enjoyable one and you made the most of our central location to visit this genuinely fascinating and historically interesting Hanoi city.

We look forward to welcoming you back…

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed in the Metropole Sofitel for 2 nights. I have been staying in this hotel on and off for 2 years when I was working in Hanoi but never had the time to give my review.
This time around I brought my family for a short holiday. A luxurious hotel rich in history. This legendary hotel is very similar to the likes of Raffles in Singapore and the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok.
The hotel is very well maintained and charming with an old world feel and provides an Italian, French and Vietnamese restaurants options.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. It provides luxurious amenities from Hermes.
The service is good and staff are attentive and helpful.
We signed up for the club benefits which include afternoon tea, cocktails with very good drinks and food selections. Highly recommended.
Breakfast buffet was good especially sitting outdoor with great cool weather in January. The whole ambiance was very delightful and relaxing.
The hotel is in a good location between the old quarters and the French quarters and close to Hoan Kiem lake. Old quarters has lots of great shopping and local restaurants and great street food if you are adventurous to try.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tuatud,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our staff, our food and the hotel location.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A wonderful experience. Immaculate room and service. The beds and linens were exceptionally comfortable. Several good restaurants also. They invite local salespeople/craftspeople to sell items on the grounds each day, which is nice for tourists. Famous people have stayed there from Charlie Chaplin to Brad Pitt. There are two sides to the hotel, we stayed in the original side not the new tower and it was beautiful. The staff was amazingly polite and accommodating and dressed in traditional "special occasion" dress. The location is ideal and walking distance to old town and parks where locals play bad mitten. Locals surround the hotel taking wedding pictures because of the picturesque setting. Crossing the street on foot, which is difficult in this city, is somewhat easier in this part of town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear SJO,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our historical hotel and especially the comfort of the signature Sofitel MyBed. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.