We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Calypso Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Calypso Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Cua Dong, Hang Bo, Hoan Kiem | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #7 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and can't give high enough praise. Here are some key points:
Pros:
-High quality furnishings
-Excellent Western style bathroom with lots of hot water and pressure
-Very, very, very clean in all aspects...did I mention it was clean ;)
-Breakfast was the best, made to order and presented with beautiful custom made garnishments
-Extremely helpful and honest staff, the hotel is small enough that they really get to know and anticipate your needs
-Diep at reception was soooo helpful!
Cons:
-Around 6AM the street noises begin....but that's just Hanoi
-I have to leave ;(

Room Tip: The higher the better and closer to the center of the building to dampen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    66
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
148
388
42
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here on our holiday in sept 2013. This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We were in and out of the hotel, with a night away at halong bay and two nights up in sapa and while away the hotel happily looked after our bags. The rooms especially the family room was comfortable and have a lot of space.

The location of the hotel is ideal, situated on a quiet street with large pavements (which is a lovely break from avoiding all bikes, people, mopeds!). It is only a 5minute walk into the busy old quarter. I would recommend this hotel to all and will definitely stay here again if I visit Hanoi once more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a really great time in the Calypso Grand Hotel. Everybody was just amazing and super friendly!!! Definitely one of our best stays! Rooms are really clean and amazing, great breakfast!
All in all perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

How this hotel is only rated 3 stars is a mystery to us. The rooms are spacious, bright and immaculately clean, the location in the Old Quarter is excellent, the breakfast restaurant is delicious, and the staff are super-friendly and an absolute delight to deal with. They are more than happy to assist in any way they can. We stayed in a family room for 6 nights in October 2013 and we honestly cannot fault the accommodation or the staff and service. Even though the hotel is in the Old Quarter there was minimal street noise coming into the room. We will certainly stay here next time we visit Hanoi. A special thanks to the lovely girls in the breakfast restaurant for looking after us so beautifully every morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent three nights at both the Calypso hotels (the Grand and the Legend) in Hanoi in October and found them to be of a high standard. The rooms were clean and reasonably spacious with nice colour co-ordination, the bathrooms modern with plenty of hot water, the breakfasts were excellent (freshly cooked and beautifully presented) and the staff extremely friendly and obliging, doing their utmost to help and make sure that we got the most out of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed for 10 days at the Calypso Grand Hotel on a business trip to Hanoi recently. My spacious and bright room with a narrow balcony overlooking Cua Dong Street was just perfect for me. Water and fresh fruit, crackers and sweet snacks were provided daily. A tea kettle and tea and coffee too.
The room was kept sparkling clean. It was great to have a bathtub.
But best of all was the staff who were very helpful and friendly. They were patient and encouraging with my attempts to speak a few words of Vietnamese.
The front desk and doormen generously offered helpful tips about where to shop and to get the best street food. Taxis were called and directions given to the drivers.
The breakfast offered many choices with plenty of delicious fresh fruit. When I had to leave early one morning they offered to give me a takeaway breakfast. The breakfast staff were cheerful and friendly; a great way to start out the day.
This is a very well run hotel for the business traveler or tourist who wishes to have all the comforts with an ideal location (a 15 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake on the edge of the Old Quarter) with great restaurants (Highway 4 for example) and incredible street food and shopping close by. The price is in the mid-range; but is far less expensive than the luxury hotels that are, in my experience, far less friendly and cozy. This is really a boutique hotel experience with an absolutely marvelous staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is a fantastic little hotel. We stayed here on 3 different occasions during a 14 day Vietnam holiday in October and our experience each time was great. It all started at the airport with a lovely airport-transfer in a private car organised by the hotel with plush leather seats and wet hand cloths and water to refresh after our long flights. The hotel's central location in the Old Quarter puts you right amongst the action so things are at your fingertips. The staff are excellent - so too the service, rooms and breakfast - all for such a small room rate! On each occasion we had a room at the back of the hotel so for us it was really quiet. Can't comment on any rooms facing the street. You would probably rate this hotel a 3.5 star but the overall experience would give a 5-star Australian hotel a good run for its money.
There was a typhoon that hit Central Vietnam while we were there which looked like holding up our holiday and the staff continually kept us informed of its movements and whether there was going to be any impact on our forward travel arrangements (which thankfully there wasn't).
Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calypso Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Grand Hotel

Address: 27 Cua Dong, Hang Bo, Hoan Kiem | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calypso Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012 and being one of the luxury boutique hotels in Calypso group of hotel collection, this hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered each visit. Free wireless internet and private computer are available throughout all guestrooms , fresh seasonal fruit awaits you upon arrival, your mini-bar is replenished daily, bath amenities and flowers help you enjoy the custom tubs, super quiet, spacious rooms and incredible down bedding beckons you back from wherever your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Calypso Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.