We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in HANOI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Calypso Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Calypso Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #9 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in HANOI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first hotel in Vietnam, and even at the time we knew we'd found something special. Whilst we travelled further through Vietnam, this just confirmed what a GEM the Calypso Grand really is. Yes the rooms have no windows, but this is common in Vietnam and only adds to perfect sleep. The staff are truely out of this world, a big thank you to Mark and his team, including Frank Vuong. They made this stay feel as if we we're in a major 5 star hotel. They go above and beyond, so we just had to take them out for a drink after work! The hotel is great, but the team here are in a word AMAZING. Thank you guys for making Hanoi a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam n, General Manager at Calypso Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mohammed B,

That is great when reading your comment you posted on tripadvisor dot com this morning when it appears, we are so appreciated about that and really happy when you had a wonderful staying at Hanoi Calypso Grand hotel.

Your shared review is so fantastic and this is so importance for our hotel to keep the ranking on the travel forum which would help people who interested in Hanoi to find the right place. As we are very proud to have loyal guests just like you who are always enjoying their stay and who are looking forward to their return.

The entire team looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
P/s: That would be great if you can help me by telling Zakir & Heyli post the comment for Calypso Grand as well.

Yours sincerely,
Mr. Mark.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    60
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
128
317
37
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was a fantastic place to stay as our introduction to Vietnam. Both the owner and receptionist went out of our way to make us feel very welcome, providing us with plenty of useful info about the surroundings. The owner even fought our corner when we were (stupidly!) victims to a taxi scam, and ensured we secured alternative transport to make our flight. The room was gorgeous - way above our expectations, and the breakfast was the best I had in Vietnam. Would definitely stay here if I am in Hanoi again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam n, Owner at Calypso Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear S123_2013,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at Hanoi Calypso Grand Hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive each day to provide our guests with the finest hotel experience. Your kind words are most appreciated and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Peter ( CEO )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a very nice, small hotel. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is wonderful. You would not go wrong here. The front desk is helpful with arraigning outing and tours. Your safety and security is a priority to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam n, General Manager at Calypso Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear CADLAC54,

Thank you very much for the great review written about our hotel. I am particularly happy that you found the service provided by our team members worth mentioning as this is the one factor, I believe that truly makes the difference to a guest. I hope your trip to Hanoi provided you with pleasant memories and I'm glad to hear that you would stay with us again in the future.

I will certainly share your remarks with my team members as they are a great source of encouragement.

Thank you again for your kind words. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mr. Mark.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

When we first arrived, we were worried that we weren't in the center of things, but learned that the center of things in Ha Noi is almost bedlam and we were happy that we were simply close to the center of things. After walking just a few blocks to the shopping district, we found it was extremely noisy and congested. Breakfast food was plentiful and of very high quality. The Calypso Grand staff simply couldn't have been more welcoming, and they were extremely helpful in making sure that we got to our Ha Long Bay cruise. Rooms were spacious and spotless, sheets were as good as any Marriott Marquis, and we had all the advertised amenities. We were glad to return to the Calypso Grand after our cruise, and when we departed for our flight home, they went out of their way to get us a very reasonable cab, and a "take-away" breakfast (we left at 6 am).

Room Tip: Some suites face Cua Dong, which can be noisy. If you're a light sleeper, an upper-floor room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam n, General Manager at Calypso Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear medray,

How wonderful to read your detailed comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Calypso Grand ! Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the services of the hotel and your room to the Calypso Grand . Our team strives indeed to make every single guest feel like royalty as they deserve and they will be thrilled to hear that they achieved their goal.

We truly hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and maybe you will be able to stay longer on that occasion. We are all waiting for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,
Mr. Mark.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Pros:
1) The staff were extremely helpful, very patient, and efficient.
2) There is a computer in the room.
3) The room itself is very nice, but our room didn't have a window.
4) The shower had a good power and stayed hot.
5) The location is good.

Cons:
1) There isn't a lot of choice at the breakfast buffet.
2) The lighting isn't the nicest but it wasn't an issue.
3) The airport pick up service gentleman was not very friendly and wasn't even waiting at the right place for us. However, he is not a reflection of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam n, Owner at Calypso Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
"Dear isitabird,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to write a comment for our Hanoi Calypso Grand Hotel, that is nice to read that and we are so appreciated about.

Regarding to your comment we would like to explain with the following details:

Our buffet breakfast is always available and ready to service you and all in house guest, things not show up because we would keep hot for all of you when you like to as much as possible by our pro chef.

To pick you up at airport, all the drivers have to wait their guests at pointed area by airport policy. However we need to improve this service as you concerned.

Your scores for us as our great goal that helping us keep a good rank on this forum as testimonial for other who interested in Hanoi destination.

Once again, we thank you for enjoin stay with us as hope that our hotel will be your home sweet home whenever you come to Hanoi"

Yours sincerely,
Peter ( CEO )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My impression when I entered the Calypso Grand Hotel was friendly staff, nice and clean hotel and the experience only improved thereafter. By the end of the five days at this hotel, I felt that if I were to return to Hanoi, I would look no further and would just book at the "Calypso Grand Hotel. The staff were exceedingly helpful; for example they recommended places to visit all of which were excellent choices; readily provided directions and maps on many of my walking tours; and anytime I called on the front office staff I found them exceptionally friendly. Additionally, there were a number of instances that they went above the call of duty, arranging for delivery of a SIM card when I needed one; arranging for special delivery of meals and much more.

I would without question recommend the Calypso Grad Hotel it is a reasonably priced hotel with exceptional service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam n, General Manager at Calypso Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Costaco,

I do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at The Calypso Legend Hotel, Hanoi on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and I sincerely appreciate that you have acknowledged so many positive elements of your stay; particularly the size and design of our guestrooms, the quality of our breakfast and most importantly the service you received from my colleagues who assisted you with the changes in your schedule. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery that Calypso is known for and I am pleased that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Mr. Mark
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our taxi took us to the wrong Calypso first but then to the Grand. A great value in the old quarter of the city. All the rooms are clean, newly and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and even a computer with free internet. The rooms, or rather small suites, to the street are very spacious with large windows. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful - from the breakfast room personnel to the front desk people who are also extremely helpful. We highly recommend this hotel. By the way, it has an elevator from what we found several don't, I really don't relish climbing stairs with my luggage. Excellent for walking everywhere in the quarter, the large street market is a few blocks away. We had two rooms in front and it was not noisy at night, very quite.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms, they are the largest, sleep 3, and have french doors out the front. Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calypso Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Grand Hotel

Address: 27 Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calypso Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012 and being one of the luxury boutique hotels in Calypso group of hotel collection, this hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered each visit. Free wireless internet and private computer are available throughout all guestrooms , fresh seasonal fruit awaits you upon arrival, your mini-bar is replenished daily, bath amenities and flowers help you enjoy the custom tubs, super quiet, spacious rooms and incredible down bedding beckons you back from wherever your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Calypso Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.