We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calypso Grand Hotel----Our 'home' for 5 nights.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Calypso Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Calypso Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Cua Dong, Hang Bo, Hoan Kiem | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #8 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Calypso Grand Hotel----Our 'home' for 5 nights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is greeeaaat----considering it's categorised 3-star. It's is so nicely located, within
walking distance of the Old Quarter of Hanoi, and to Hoan Kiem Lake and other sites. And yet,
we on the 3rd floor in a Family Suite did not experience any noise problem from the street during day or night. Numerous restaurents and dining outlets are nearby. And the room is big,
plenty of space with a king bed and a single. It's also well furnished, nice big bathroom with a
big bath, hand shower as well as overhead rain-shower, bath robes which are changed every
day, slippers in the room and separate ones in the bathroom, hand and bath towels, and ample
toiletry kit.Beds are very comfortable, and we enjoyed the flat tv but did not use the dvd
player which was also available.We asked for an ironing board with iron, and it was there very
quickly. The mini-fridge was initially not working well, but was replaced with another fully operational one very quickly. The room is very well maintained daily and very clean, a new fresh fruit plate every day, ample bottled mineral/drinking water and there is also a room safe.
Breakfast was more than adequate for us, with delicious pho and spring rolls, fresh fruits etc
etc. And all that, in our opinion ( and extensive travelling experience ), at a very competive and attractive price. And what's more, there is also the welcome hospitality which come from all the staff.
In all our communication and requests with the staff, right from the first e-mail enquiry and throught our stay, their response was always prompt, attentive, courteus, cheerful and willing to help.Even the staff at the buffet dining and house-keeping are always cheerful and helpful. Jay was most responsive and prompt right from the beginning, and Tony was very helpful too, and so were all the other staff.
We had a very enjoyable holiday in Hanoi, and a very comfortable stay at the Calypso Grand---
our home away from home. Thanks to all the staff there!

Room Tip: The family suite is nice, with a small balcony facing the front and Cua Dong St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    66
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
148
388
42
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Calypso with our 3 and 5 years old children on 2 separate occasions and on both occasions we had a fantastic time. We felt very welcome; the service was great and so was the breakfast. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. We stayed in a family room which had ample of space for our children to play.

We are already thinking of our next trip to Vietnam and when we go we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed on 2 separate occasions during our 2 week visit. Fabulous value for money, in a great location in the Old Quarter. The staff are wonderful, we felt so welcome and were met with huge smiles and warmth. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for making both of our visits so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was a great escape from the craziness of Hanoi! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They arranged airport transfers, laundry service, and tours of the city and Halong Bay. We were upgraded to a larger room with a balcony when we arrived, which was a very nice treat. The breakfast was great, with a variety of western and vietnamese options. The only real complaint would be that we could occasionally smell cigarette smoke in the hallway and on the towels (although we were under the impression it was a non-smoking hotel). This hotel is an excellent choice for the price...definitely check it out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Calypso for 6 days. The staff is really friendly and helpful - this is the way hotels should be. The prices are reasonable regarding the size of the room and the equipment. Breakfast is great as you can select for a broad variety of food. The location is superbe as all mayor sights can be reached easily. Definetly a great place to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is excellent in every way. From the minute you walk through the door you will be treated like royalty. The rooms are spacious and ultra clean. Rooms have a computer for personal use. The fruit basket is changed every day - a lovely touch! There is no restaurant here but breakfast is adequate and there are plenty of places to eat in close proximity. The hotel's airport transfer is reliable and efficient. Recommendations made by the hotel were reliable. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a lovely clean hotel with fresh attractive decor and very comfortable rooms. What set it apart from other hotels was the amazing service I recieved during my recent visit. I had booked a Ha Long Bay cruise online through a travel agent in Vietnam. There was a snafu and I could not reach the agent, and I waited forlornly in the Calypso lobby to be picked up for my tour, which never happened. The Calypso staff rushed into action, booked me on another cruise, got a private car to take me to meet up with the tour that had already left. In addition to all of this effort, the staff researched the agency that had cancelled my first tour and had information for me when I returned from Ha Long. The day I checked out of the Calypso I mentioned that I had wanted to purchase one of the quintessential conical Vietnamese hats. I had not had time to shop. One of the hotel staff jumped on his scooter and went to the market to get a hat for me. Who does things like that? The Calypso does! I suggest if you go to Hanoi, stay at the Calypso, tell them what you want to do and see and let then arrange it all. You'd be in great hands.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calypso Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Grand Hotel

Address: 27 Cua Dong, Hang Bo, Hoan Kiem | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calypso Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012 and being one of the luxury boutique hotels in Calypso group of hotel collection, this hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered each visit. Free wireless internet and private computer are available throughout all guestrooms , fresh seasonal fruit awaits you upon arrival, your mini-bar is replenished daily, bath amenities and flowers help you enjoy the custom tubs, super quiet, spacious rooms and incredible down bedding beckons you back from wherever your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Calypso Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.