We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best,better than all the rest!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Legend Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Legend Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Legend Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICK UP/LAUNDRY,,,,
Ranked #50 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“simply the best,better than all the rest!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my sixth time in Hanoi,i work as a volunteer english teacher.I have stayed in many hotels,all of which are very average.they can be very noisy,not so clean etc.
Golden legend has the highest standards of excellance.the staff are amazing,the rooms are large with a beautiful old quarter outlook.Safe street food is literally at the front door.
The hotel is in a side lane,very quite from all the traffic.The rooms are very spacious and extremly clean,modern furniture and tv.Wifi is free with a computer is in your room.This hotel just gets better and better,and i didnt think that could be possible.
The room rate comes with breakfast included.Great selection for asians and europeans.Its a great place to experience perfection.

Room Tip: It doesnt matter they are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    97
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
124
281
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The friendly welcome we received set the tone for our brief stay at the Golden Legend - 17 Feb 2013. As we drew up outside we began to wonder whether we were going to be happy at this small hotel up a quiet road, but, just as you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, you shouldn't judge this hotel from its exterior, an exterior we came to love - our home from home. Great location, close to cathedral and short walk to the lake and into the city centre.

Mr Ha was behind Reception and soon we were laughing about this and that as he booked dinner for us at the hotel just down the road (do go - Madame Hien?) and then helped us to exchange money (by going to the bank on our behalf as we were straight out for a rickshaw ride), with full explanation of the Dong vs Pounds and Euros. And then he went on to recommend shoe shops as he could see we were not kitted out for the Hanoi weather and the Ha Long Bay cruise we’d booked – all this carried out with patience and humour The porters were lovely - all the staff were, and nothing was too much trouble.

Rooms are a good size, and have everything you need, including comfy beds, and ours had a computer in it which made internet access immediate and so easy - why can't all hotels do this?

Later on we met Ms Sunny, who was charming and chatty and said she'd be there in the morning to see us off - and she was.

Sadly, only one of us made it to breakfast but the report was excellent - smiling, helpful staff and delicious food, freshly cooked.

At the end of the day this is a 3 star hotel, with 5 star staff, but if we ever go back to Hanoi we won’t hesitate to rush straight back to the Golden Legend, in fact the hotel could be the main reason for our return, although we loved the frenetic pace of life in the city and did wish we’d had more time to explore it, the 6 million scooters nothwithstanding!

Thank you Ms Sunny, Mr Ha and all of the staff at this little gem of an hotel, keep up the good work. Sharon, Derek2Combs, Kelly and Tony

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs. Sharon and Derek Rusell
Firstly we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us the comments. We are glad that you were pleased with the services offered as it has always been our desire to deliver excellent service to all our guests. Your comments are valuable to us in our effort to improve our standard of service to serve all our guest better. You will be glad to know that we have already conveyed your compliments to all the staff which will definitely boost their morale and spur them to provide only the best to all our valued guests like your good self. Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 days. The rooms are immaculate (cleaned everyday) with big windows. The hotel is set on a quiet street in the centre of town 1 minute walk from the Cathedral and coffee shops. The breakfast is excellent and unlimited, cooked to order with your choice of banana and chocolate pancakes, fruits, Vietnamese breaky etc.

Ms Sunny organised a fantastic suprise of chocolate and wine for my partner's birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who we came to know by name (Huong, Bruce, Thuan, Sunny). We organised a tour to Halong bay and tickets to go to Sapa through them. They stored our luggage and allowed us to check in early with no fee. They made our trip magical with conversation and answered all of questions with a high level of English. You must stay here. We will come again.

Room Tip: We preferred the odd numbered rooms are they had a corner window letting in more light. That said al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Sally and Dave

Thank you for your detailed and gracious comments about your recent stay at the Golden Legend Hotel

I am happy to hear that our Team members had gone out of their way to make your stay with you as a memorable one. Please be assured that I will take the liberty of forwarding your appreciation to all concerned so that we are all aware of your comments.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you and David back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Sincere yours
Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Coincidentally, I spent my birthday during our stay. With the help of one of the staff, Hung, my wife surprised me with birthday cake, candles and wine on midnight. Such a service beyond duty task. overall, it's also a great place to stay, on proximity to old quarter but on a quieter lane. great overall service from all staffs, great food at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Ivan

I would like to show my appreciation regarding your gracious words about our butler service and the whole team especially Mr. Hung who usually try his utmost to satisfy all guests requests and even beyond their expectations.

We are also delighted that you enjoy the hotel gift for your birthday and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor surfers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On our return from a 2 day Halong Bay cruise, we were informed by the staff of the hotel we had booked, that the room was no longer available. Instead, they said, they'd reserved a room at the 'Golden Legend' for us at discounted prices (i.e. the price of our original booking). We weren't pleased, but since it was cold and late in the day, we decided to get a cab to this new hotel. Such a lucky break! This was a great hotel. Very much like all the other hotels in the Old Quarter, but much newer and with better service. The hotel offers free wifi and our room had a computer in it. The bathroom was great. Breakfast was offered on the top floor and was a la carte, with an extensive menu (I'm primarily vegetarian, and they cooked up a few special dishes for me). Staff was friendly and happily ordered us a cab to the airport when we checked out.

Will be back here, if I visit Hanoi again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Perth

Thank you for sharing your great feedback following your recent stay at Golden legend hotel. I am happy that you enjoy our hotel services.

Our utmost reward is to read our guests satisfaction. The team and I are grateful to you for taking the time to drop some extremely positive words about your experience at our property.

Your comment of the changing hotel and be upgraded to the Deluxe Hotel at the last minutes are well noted and we will look into further communication training for our team to ensure that won't happen again.

My Team and I look forward to your return visit soon.

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

2. time no dissapointment, for the price. The rooms not that exiting, but what you need, an nice bathrooms. The breakfast room a little dull BUT the service and the food top! The service there is with a big smile, and quick, nad the breakfast is withour limmit, you choose from a menycard until you are totaly full. The pho is good, tha banana pancake as well, and a enourmes plate of fruits as a starter. So no tired buffet, but as much as you like made on order ,and with that big smile. Every one on the hotel down to the kind doorman is smile and service.
Also its nice with the in room computer, though the internet i s a bit slow.
The location practically, and on the nearest corner is the Pho place, Pho 10, with the best beef Pho evet, and for aprox 45.000 dong, ate ther almost every day, and the day we didnt we regretted it.
The spa on the other side of the road is a budget one, but with nice staff and massages. The pedicure bad though, but that comes in an other rewiev.
But the hotel is worth the mony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Danish

Thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our staff and on the restaurant as well the hotel facilities, but most of all, it a pleasure to read that you felt valued, happy and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to Golden Legend Hotel.

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I recently spent the better part of three weeks at the Golden Legend. It was the perfect home away from home. The hotel has a very caring and attentive staff, a GREAT location near Hoan Kiem lake, the Old Quarter and the French Quarter, and bright, reasonably priced rooms. Being on a working vacation, we tend to spend a fair bit of time in our hotel rooms and the Golden Legend was the perfect base for us. Super-fast WIFI, a quiet street at night, breakfast with a view, and a staff willing to do everything to make your stay everything you need it to be. I would return in a heartbeat. The staff were also kind enough to give us a beautiful piece of art on our departure. Unexpected and very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Mrs. Monquito

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review about your stay at the Golden Legend Hotel. We are glad you consider our Hotel as the Place to Stay in Hanoi and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the delicious food and the charm of the hotel.

Our utmost reward is to read our guests satisfaction. The team and I are grateful to you for taking the time to drop some extremely positive words about your experience at our property.

My Team and I look forward to your return visit soon.

Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Legend Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.